#MFRWauthors No, I Have to Choose a Book Title

How do I choose a book title?mfrw2017-52-week-challenge-image-300x300

I have a hard time choosing the right title for my WIPs. Usually I start off with something like ‘Winter Creek series, Book Four’ or ‘Bri’s Story’. That way at least I have a title–kind of. Then usually some words I’d just typed in the story comes alive to me and I use those for a title. And other times I used the jobs of the heroine or hero. For instance, The Dressmaker’s Dilemma and Trusting the Cowboy.

What upsets me is when I find a title I like on another book already published, so I feel like I need to change it. For instance, I changed the title of one finished, still unpublished story three times until I found the perfect title for it. First it was called ‘Finding the Right One’ which changed to ‘Listening to Her Heart’ and then finally, “A Second Chance in Panama’. Wonderful. Then I checked on a publishers website and found a recently published book with same title except for the last word. Growl.

Unfortunately finding a good title for one of the books I’m writing is the hardest thing for me. Sometimes the book is completely written and I still don’t have a title for it.

Wish it was easier.

Cowboy-largeDressmaker's Dilemma

Buy links– http://amzn.to/2dXY1Hq

and– http://amzn.to/12RCJTj

Want to know how some more authors pick out their titles? Just click on the link below.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 thoughts on “#MFRWauthors No, I Have to Choose a Book Title

  1. LOL…I can SO relate to this! I was looking for a better title for one of my books and thought I’d found it, only to discover one of my friends with the same publisher had the same title the year before! Ooops…..back to the think tank….

  2. Titles are hard. Like the cover, they are the first impression a reader has of your book. Don’t want it too generic, but you also don’t want it so unique people have a hard time remembering it.

Leave a Reply

