Last Thing I Wrote…

Definitely not going to get 50,000 words written this November. Unless I can manage to write 15,000 words today and 15,000 tomorrow. Don’t see that happening, so I guess…

Kim’s Redemption, the last (maybe) book in my Winter Creek series with Beachwalk Press, will not be finished by December 1. So far I’ve only got 20,22o words and I just started the fourth chapter. (Long chapters.)

Here’s the last paragraph I wrote–

Wil offered him a room in his home in White Sky for the winter, yet he liked staying in the town. So far it hadn’t gotten too cold or uncomfortable for him. He might change his mind if the weather got worse. Jack was too old to live with a roommate, to set in his ways. Wil was his friend. If the two of them had to live together, that would definitely not be good for their friendship. The younger guy was a fine man, but he did get a bit…uptight at things.

The hero and heroine are Jack, the oldest of WCHA’s town board members, and Kim, Jen’s sister. I was going to write Bri’s and Wil’s story (need to give him a nickname), but I’m solving the mystery of how Grandpa Adam and Aunt Grace, the saloon’s ghost, meant their end. I need to have someone who can see ghost, and that’s Kim. I see the ending so clearly.

I also see a few strong scenes that belong in the middle of the book. I think I’m going to do something different and write them out of sequence.  All the books I’ve finished were written one event after another, yet I need to change it up. I have at least five unfinished books on my hard drive, one of them only needs one and half or two chapters left to write.

Oh, well!

Just because I want to, here’s the first paragraph of Chapter One of Kim’s Redemption. First draft and still need to do a lot of research in the other three books. That’s why I have NAME OF ASSISTANT LIVING in the paragraph. I can’t remember the name of the place Kim’s grandfather is living now.

Hey, it is a first draft.

She wanted to be anywhere but here. As soon as Kimberley Ferguson walked out of the main building of the NAME OF ASSISTANT LIVING toward the line of apartments behind it, she sensed coming here today might be a mistake. Would her grandfather even remember her? Would he want to see her if he did? Forcing a breath into her empty lungs, she stopped near a bench and wrapped her unbuttoned coat around her. You need to leave, Kim, before Jen or Ed show up—or Dad. Her visiting would only confuse grandfather. He wasn’t well now.

#amwriting

 

.

Leave a Reply

