Free Read — An Unplanned Rendezvous Part 6

Here’s another part of my story.

Only one more to go.

An Unplanned Rendezvous 

“Use you?” She straightened up at his comment. “What are you talking about? If anyone used anyone, you used me.”

Bitterness bit into his laughter this time. “You left me, Annie.”

“I… left…” Annie stared down at him, anger simmering hot in her. “No, you left me that morning. I was the one who woke up in an empty bed. I was the one who waited two days to hear from you. I was the one who caught you half-naked with my cousin when I finally gave up waiting and went to your office.”

“I’d just gotten back from the construction site late Friday afternoon,” he said, leaning toward her. “I was cleaning up there before I went to the hospital to see your Uncle, Beth’s dad. That’s what you saw.”

“So you say,” she said. “You just can’t help the lies, can you?”

He sighed and shook his head. “I went to see him around six, six-thirty Friday.”

“One lie after another,” sadness filled her heart as she glanced toward him. “I went to visit him around that time, and your father said you weren’t there. You hadn’t been there all day.”

“Dad told you that?”

“Yes, but that’s not the only thing he told me.” Bitterness fought with unwanted sadness. Three years had gone by but she still felt the pain of his father’s words. “He told me about your pending engagement to my cousin.”

“What?” He reached his hand toward her, dropping them hard to the table. “So that’s why you left? That’s why you told your mom and dad not to tell me where you’d gone?”

She wiped the single tear away and stood from the table. “What did you expect me to do, Luke? Stay around and watch my cousin win.” Anger caused her tears now. She didn’t erase them away this time. “Maybe you wanted me to become your mistress like all those women were for your father. It wasn’t going to happen. I had to leave. I had no choice.”

“Beth and I never married, Annie.”

“I know that. My mom told me.” And that wasn’t point, she wanted to say. He may have had the strength to not marry someone his father liked, but he still didn’t have the fortitude to go completely against his wishes. She shook her head and stepped away from him. “You’ve never allowed your father to browbeat you into doing anything you didn’t want to do.”

“Annie, I’ve never married anyone.”

 

Leave a Reply

