Free Read — An Unplanned Rendezvous — Part three

I hope everyone is still enjoying my little story. I’ve got part three here.

Tomorrow will be the next part.

Enjoy.

An Unplanned Rendezvous

“You had sex with this guy?”

Annie shook the question away. “It was a big mistake.”

“Disappointing?”

“Well, Annie?” A hint of laughter teased in Luke’s word. “Was it? Disappointing, I mean?”

She glanced at him, hating the look of confidence and satisfaction in his eyes. Disappointing? Hell, no. How could it possibly have been disappointing when even the memory of it left her weak? The deep sound of his voice, the look in his eyes, the sea-salty scent of him now left her aching for another night. Yet still, in another way, a more heart-hurting way, it had been disappointing. He’d abused a lifetime friendship for a single night, changing everything.

A hint of mint breezed across her lips as he leaned toward her. “Be truthful now, Annie. Three years isn’t all that long ago, and I remember your reactions that night. I remember every little sound, every touch.”

“Unfortunately,” she answered, anger deepening her voice. “I still remember your actions the next day, and days after that.”

Something flashed across his features. Some fleeting emotion she couldn’t grab onto before it disappeared behind his distracting smile.

“No, I wasn’t disappointed,” Annie admitted. “Not physically anyway, but… Yes, you did upset me. You did lie to me.”

He had the decency to look down. “I never lied to you, Annie.”

“Like hell,” she said. “If I told you it was nice seeing you again, you’d know it was a lie. Don’t follow me, Luke.”

Not looking at any of them, not even her concerned best friend, she stepped through the patio door and wandered toward the shore.

“Annie? Where are you going?” Tracy yelled.

“For a walk,” she said. “I need some fresh air.”

Her friend giggled. “You know you’re leaving me alone with two hot guys?”

“Have fun,” she whispered. “But I wouldn’t believe a word either of them says to you.”

A rough hand pulled her to an abrupt stop a hundred yards from house. She shivered at the familiar touch as remembered need raced hot into her. Luke’s grip loosened on her but didn’t release her arm completely. The gentleness in his hold was even more devastating than his roughness. He’d been so gentle that night, so caring, so willing to love her pain away.

“Do you plan on running away from me forever?”

She yanked her arm away, and twisted toward him. “I don’t have anything to say to you, Luke.”

“Well, I have something to say to you.” Anger deepened his voice now. “It’s taken me three years to get this close to you again, and I don’t plan on letting you go until you hear me out.”

“More lies?”

 

Leave a Reply

