Interview with Tracy March

tracy-march-200Welcome Tracy March to my blog today.

Tracy is giving away a $100,00 Amazon Gift Card to one lucky person. Just click on the link for your chance.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb554132/

Tempted in the Tropics Bracelet for GiveawayTracy is also giving away a charm bracelet. See the picture here. I’ll pick one commenter.

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

I used to work in the pharmaceutical field where I faced a great deal of pressure to meet super-sized sales goals. I turned to writing fiction to alleviate some of my real-world stress, with the hope of someday becoming a full-time author and ditching the pharma job. I’m happy to say that my wish has come true!

I keep writing because I love the process of taking a story from an idea all the way to a finished book. It’s fulfilling and fun!

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

I’ve had the support of my family and friends all along, but mine was a long journey to publication—about 8 years—so I imagine it got a little awkward for them (and me!) when nothing was really happening. Now that I have three titles published, it seems more comfortable for everyone!

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

I definitely need complete silence and Diet Coke. And some kind of view–whether it’s out of my home office window looking at the trees and the glimmering river beyond, or out of a hotel room window looking at Nationals Park in Washington, DC. I need to have something to stare at while my imagination runs free! When my husband travels to DC for his job, I usually go, too, since I can take my work with me. Sometimes we’ll score room with incredible views of the amazing skyline. But if the view doesn’t inspire me, I’ll grab my Diet Coke and go out and find one that does!

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Get a treadmill desk! Mine has been such an awesome addition to my office. I no longer have to adhere to the common advice for writers—butt in chair. Now I can walk while I write and I feel so much better!

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

Overcoming rejections from editors and agents and still having confidence that I would break in one day. It really helped to have a network of supportive writer friends who were dealing with similar struggles. I’m happy to say that my core group of writer pals are all published now, and a couple of them are USA Today bestselling authors!

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

The best compliment I’ve gotten was when my husband was reading my romantic thriller, Girl Three. He said, “I kept reading it thinking, my wife wrote that?” It was his quirky way of saying he was impressed! When Girl Three, was published in April, he took me to Barnes &Noble where I got to see it on the shelf—a dream come true, for sure. I actually stood there and cried! Of course, my husband snapped a picture. Not the most flattering shot, but he still has it as the wallpaper on his iPhone! Isn’t he precious? 😉

Outside of my family, the best compliment I’ve received was when RT Book Reviews selected The Practice Proposal as a Top Pick! in July. I’m still over the moon about that!

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I’m working on the third book in my Suddenly Smitten sweet-and-sassy romance series that began with The Practice Proposal and Tempted in the Tropics. It’s scheduled for release in January, and will feature the irresistible Caribbean resort tycoon Trent Hawthorne whose grandmother is the matriarch of Maple Creek, the small town where the series is set. Perhaps the girl for him is his grandmother’s personal assistant, Cynthia, a rebellious preacher’s daughter who prefers the nickname “Cyn.”

Tell us about your latest book.

Tempted in the Tropics is a sweet-and-sassy, enemies-to-lovers romance!

One super-sexy doctor…

One feisty pastry chef…

One conversation starts their feud.

But when they end up at a friend’s wedding in St. Lucia, will the sultry heat between them bring a temporary truce?

How can people find out more about you?

I hope they’ll visit my website at TracyMarch.com where they’ll learn more about me and find all my social media links.

Some More About the Author:

Award-winning author Tracy March writes romantic thrillers influenced by her career in the pharmaceutical field, and her interest in science and politics. She also writes lighthearted romances inspired by her real-life happily ever after.

Always up for travel and adventure, Tracy has flown in a stunt plane, snowmobiled on the Continental Divide, ziplined in the Swiss Alps, and been chased by a bull in the mountains of St. Lucia. She loves Nationals baseball, Saturday date nights, and Dairy Queen Blizzards—and rarely goes a day without Diet Coke and Cheez-Its.

Tracy lives in Yorktown, Virginia, with her superhero husband who works for NASA. They recently spent two years living in Washington D.C., and enjoy visiting often—especially when the Nats are in town.

Website: http://www.tracymarch.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tracy-March/151834621538910

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Tracy_March

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4575285.Tracy_March

Tempted in the Tropicstempted-in-tropics-225
Suddenly Smitten Series

Book 2

Tracy March

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Entangled Publishing – Bliss

Date of Publication: September 9, 2013

ISBN: 9781622661626

ASIN: B00EMTDMFA

Number of pages: 192

Cover Artist: Jessica Cantor

Amazon  BN

Book Description:

The only thing they agree on is the sultry heat between them

Nothing’s more important to Paige Ellerbee than her struggling bakery, Sweet Bee’s. When Lane Anderson, the temporary new doctor hot enough to rival McDreamy, moves in next door, though, she’s sure things are looking up. Until he threatens her business in their first conversation.

Lane just wants to practice medicine responsibly—not argue with the flighty bakery owner next door. But when he finds himself traveling down to the Caribbean to play guitar for Paige’s best friend’s wedding, suddenly the sight of the blonde in a bikini eclipses the fact they can’t agree on anything. And as their vacation romance grows, his reservations about starting something after getting burned by love are washed away like sand on the beach.

But once Paige and Lane land back home, will these polar opposites be able to forgive their feud and find lasting love?

4 thoughts on “Interview with Tracy March

Leave a Reply

