Interview with Melissa Stevens

hunt600x900What first got you interested in writing?

I’ve always been interested in writing, but as a child, I had no clue what to do after two or three pages. So I did the other half of all the advice, read, read a lot. After more than 20 years and tens of thousands of books, I had more of an idea how a story was put together and when I heard about NaNoWriMo in October of  2009, it was the push I needed to get started

What has kept you doing it?

The thrill, honestly. I love that rush when your characters start talking to you, and again when you figure out exactly how the story ends.

Do you have the support of your family and friends?

Yes, my family has been incredibly supportive.

Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

Well… My extended family has only known since I published, My kids have always loved the idea, my husband? He was less supportive before I published but he wasn’t unsupportive.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I write in pieces, not from beginning to end, but in scenes here and there, until I’m about ¾ of the way through the story, then I go back to the beginning and fill in the gaps.

Strangest habit?

Not sure it’s strange, but I have an obsession with gum. I have several flavors and several packages on my desk and in every bag I carry.

Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

I have to have a full glass of iced tea and a plenty of gum, that’s it.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Write. Every day. No excuses, just do it. You have to finish that first draft. Don’t worry that it’s not perfect, or even ‘crappy’ first drafts are supposed to be crappy. You can fix crappy, you can’t fix nothing.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing?

Yes, I have a few readers who read anything I put out as soon as it’s released and wait impatiently for the next book.

What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

The best is when a family member tells me they’ve been reading and they love it, that they can’t wait for the next book because I’ve managed to capture their attention and they love my characters. It’s great when fans tell you, but family is special.

What are you working on now?

Oh, right now? I’m working on a sequel to Escape, it’s a steamy shifter story, related to my Kitsune series in that they’re the same kind of shifters but told in a different place and time period. It’s not titled yet.

Could you give us a little taste?

Hmmmm… Mind you this is rough and subject to change, but here you are:

Steve waited until his leader had gone inside. “Why are you here?” He asked, his tone matched the frown in his face.

“I needed to see you.” She couldn’t put it any plainer.

“Is everything all right?” His displeasure turned to concern when he thought someone might be hurt. “Your parents? Mine? Matt?” He said her brother’s name last, and dread filled his eyes at the idea that something had happened to his friend. “Why didn’t someone just call?”

She shook her head. “No, everyone’s fine. That’s not why I’m here.”

“If that’s not it, why are you here?” His frown returned and she could see he wasn’t happy to see her.

JV looked at the ground and slowly started toward him. “When you left, all those years ago, somehow, I knew it was because of me. It hurt. It hurt, a lot. At first, I waited for you to come back, the longer I waited, the more I tried to hate you, because of how bad it hurt. But even then, I hoped and prayed for you to come back. I tried to move on.” She looked back up at him and paused for a moment, because Steve was shaking his head, then went on. “It took me a long time to realize that you had no intention of returning. It took me even longer to understand why.”

“That doesn’t tell me why you’re here now, Jade.” He said, still frowning.

“I needed to see you again.” She knew this wasn’t going to be easy. She had known he wouldn’t be happy to see her. However, it was important to her to find out if what she remembered was real, or if it had been the wishful thinking of a teenage girl.

“And now that you’re here?”

The breeze kicked up and blew bits of leaves and needles across the hard-packed ground and the scents of pine, juniper and the subtle musk she instantly recognized as Steve’s scent into her face. His unique fragrance pulled at something low in her body, something she barely remembered and feared might have been a fantasy.

“Now I see you.” She tilted her head to one side, watching him. “Without even touching you I know that I wasn’t imagining what I felt then. It was real.”

“What was real?” His scowl deepened.

“What I feel.” She knew she was being evasive, but she didn’t want to tip her hand just yet, he might stop her if he knew what she was up to.

Steve frowned. “I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

“I’m pretty sure you do. I can appreciate that you’ve tried to forget it, I did too. But I can’t, so here I am.”

“I’m not following.”

She took a deep breath and braced herself, she was going to have to do it. He wasn’t going to like it, but she didn’t see any other way. Without stopping to think, she moved. She reached out and laid her hand on his arm, waiting for the sharp, burning pain she always felt when touching someone. For so long, the touch of any male not related to her, had burned her skin, she hoped that with a potential mate, it would be different. When there was no sting, no pain, she took her plan to the next step. She wrapped her arms around his neck. Using his momentary surprise to her advantage, she pulled him down until she could kiss him before he could stop her.

Placing her mouth against his, she ran her tongue along the seam of his lips until he opened to her, then she dove inside. She licked and tasted him, drawing him in. She pressed her body against his, letting the instinctive attraction between them speak for her.

His body responded before his brain did. His arms wound around her waist and pulled her closer as he lost himself for a moment.

She knew the moment his brain started working again, because he stiffened and pulled away. She let him draw back, then stepped away until she stood about a foot in front of him.

“Why did you do that?” His voice had turned thick and husky.

“Now you’re following me.” JV smirked as she spun around and went back to her pickup. “I’m going to go get a room. I’ll see you later.”

“You’re wasting your time, Jade. Go home.”

“There’s nothing for me there. That’s why I’m here.” She didn’t bother to turn back to him. She knew given the chance, he’d talk her into going home, or at least try. She wasn’t giving him the chance.

“I’m afraid there’s nothing for you here.” His voice got louder with every exchange.

“I’m not convinced of that.” JV kept her tone even and confident, even though she didn’t feel it. “If you can kiss me like that, neither are you.” She climbed back into her truck and left, enjoying for once, having the last word as she left him standing and watching as she walked away.

Tell us about your latest book.

My latest (and the subject of this tour) is HUNT, it’s the third book in the Kitsune series which follows Nickie’s story. In the first book, CHANGE, she discovered that not only do shape shifters exist, but she is one, and she learned to deal with the changes that brought to her life. She’s had some adventure since then and her story continues in HUNT.

How can people find out more about you?

I post most often on my facebook page, but I do post regularly on my blog as well, here are all the links where you can find me online.

https://www.facebook.com/melissastevensauthor?ref=stream

http://melissastevens.us/

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5062799.Melissa_Stevens?auto_login_attempted=true

https://twitter.com/Meltstev

2 thoughts on “Interview with Melissa Stevens

Leave a Reply

