Interview with Monique O’Connor James

What first got you interested in writing?
My mom bought me a journal when I was in elementary school and encouraged me to write.  She enjoyed writing and so I think I got my love of writing from her. What has kept you doing it?  For me, writing is cathartic.  It’s cheaper than any other therapy!

Do you have the support of your family and friends?

Yes, my family and friends are very supportive of me.

Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

Well…I think that my husband always supported me, but he thought of it more as a hobby until I was published.  He never put down on writing, but once I was published he became one of my biggest cheerleaders.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

Writing long hand before I type! Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?  Must have a Coke to drink and sometimes music playing….other times it has to be really quiet.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Don’t let other people squash your dreams.  Sometimes, it’s hard to keep going when everyone has on opinion about what you are doing.  Just remember you don’t write for those people and keep pushing yourself!  Get a great critique partner and learn to take constructive criticism and use it to better your craft.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

Promoting and marketing.  It’s almost impossible to fit it all in!

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you? 

Oh I’ve had readers tell me things like, I couldn’t stop thinking about your book for days, or I stayed up all night and read it in one sitting.  For me, having the book resonate with someone after they read it, is the best compliment.

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste? 

I’m working on several things!  One of them is about witch clans in New Orleans called Magia Rising.

Tell us about your latest book.

Becoming Jolie is about a small, fictional town in Louisiana were several children have gone missing.  The town’s people are haunted by the ghosts of their children and Jolie thinks they are all crazy.   However, she’s pulled into Follett’s story via her dreams and ties to the place she didn’t know existed.  Throw in a love triangle and the story is really creepy and exciting!

How can people find out more about you?

Twitter:               mjames13

WordPress:         www.moniquejames.wordpress.com

Website:             www.moniqueoconnorjames.com

Facebook:          https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=511255176

Author Page:      https://www.facebook.com/Moniqueoconnorjamesauthor

One thought on “Interview with Monique O’Connor James

Leave a Reply

