Interview with LJ Garland and Debbie Gould

I’m glad to have Debbie Gould and LJ Garland on my blog.

DEBBIE GOULD : Thanks for inviting us, I’m excited.

LJ GARLAND : Yes, thanks so much for having us today!

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

DEBBIE GOULD : I’ve always loved to read, but my daughter had just gone through a bunch of bad break-ups, so after reading about all these great heroes, I decided I wanted to write about the hero she should have. That’s when Mountain’s Echo was born.

LJ GARLAND : It wasn’t until I met my husband that the bug really bit. This story idea just jumped into my head, and I came home from work one day and said, “Honey, I want to write a book.” He was like, “Okay.” So, off I went to write the first few chapters. Around chapter five, I decided I should stop and show him what I’d done. I’ll tell you, there’s nothing so intense as sitting by, gnawing your nails, while the man you love reads what you wrote. Course later he told me that he’d been just as nervous. Before he ever read the first word, he wondered how he would tell me if it sucked. LOL

DEBBIE GOULD : The past four months have been really tough personally, so I’d have to say Laura is the one who’s kept me going. She doesn’t let me dwell on stuff too long and keeps asking where the next chapter is. I doubt I would be writing at all if not for her.

LJ GARLAND : Well, I love seeing what you come up with, how you’ll torture the characters next! LOL As far as motivators, I’d say my mom and my husband keep me going. They both are very supportive. But when I need a kick in the tushie? Um, well…that would be Debbie. She helps keep me focused and on-track. And really? We have a lot of fun working together which for me is a huge motivator. J

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

LJ GARLAND : My family is very supportive. My husband is forever discussing plot problems and character arcs. We work as a team on most everything! Course, Deb feels like family…and she’s super supportive!

DEBBIE GOULD : Ditto! J  My children have always been very supportive.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

DEBBIE GOULD : Nope, don’t think so. I’m pretty basic.

LJ GARLAND : Maybe not unusual but I do like to listen to music and drink coffee. LOL Usually there’s a cat in my lap, too. They swear they’re helping with my creativity…I swear they’re bringing on carpal tunnel syndrome. But they’re sweet and furry, so how can I say no?

What advice would you give to a new writer?

LJ GARLAND : Learn the craft. Write the best story…and most important…Never quit.

DEBBIE GOULD : Ditto! Oh, and research what you’re not sure of.
LJ GARLAND : Yeah, research is good, too. And the Internet makes that part so much easier.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

DEBBIE GOULD : Writing the story was easy. Sending it out to the critique group and learning about all the things I had no clue about was shocking. Grammar is not my strong suit apparently. LOL.

LJ GARLAND : For me, it was that there was SO much to learn. Writing is a very complicated craft—not to mention subjective.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

LJ GARLAND : Well, my mom is one of our biggest fans. LOL She just called me the other day and said she’d finished reading Sins of the Mind and loved it! She wanted us to hurry up and write the next story. But as far as non-family members? I recently had Niina over at For the Love of Reading say, “I couldn’t stop reading, I went through the novel in a jiffy, I simply didn’t want to put the book down! Entertaining from the first page on, MechMan was an adventure, chase and run, both plot wise and romantically.”

DEBBIE GOULD : I’ve had several readers compliment my writing. Most tell me it’s very emotional stuff.

LJ GARLAND : I would second that!

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

DEBBIE GOULD : We are working on the next book in the Red River Series, yup more murder, mayhem, and romance, lol.
LJ GARLAND : Yep, we’ll be torturing the next characters even more than the first. Though, I think Sins of the Mind had several unexpected twists…and the characters got banged up pretty good.

DEBBIE GOULD : So, here’s a little bit of our latest WIP….

FBI Agent Will Donovan jogged down the platform toward the train. Each step jolted the flashlight in his hand, sending the beam of light dashing over the concrete in front of him. Would he be too late?

Rows of light illuminated the abandoned trains, left in an old offshoot line of Boston’s Boylston Street Station. He rushed past a wall decorated with graffiti and cobwebs, his footsteps ringing hollow in the old concrete-lined tunnel. Behind him his partner, Kate Yarbrough followed.

“Will,” she called, her voice a harsh whisper filled with warning.

He slowed up. Kate was right. Rushing in could get them both killed. Just because the psycho bastard hadn’t set traps before didn’t mean there weren’t any this time. With both hands, he swept his flashlight beam and Glock 23 across the area, searching out the monster who’d murdered so many women. But only dirt, gravel, and rusted tracks were revealed.

He twisted back to his partner, who tilted her head toward the train car. Get on the train, Will. Find the girl. He nodded.

Tell us about your latest book.

Our latest release is the first book from the Red River series. It’s a romantic suspense from Decadent Publishing called Sins of the Mind.

BLURB:
Seven years ago, Abby Montgomery survived a brutal attack. Now she is ready to put her pain in the past and move on with her life. The problem is, one by one the men in her life are being viciously murdered.

The detective assigned to the case, Ethan Parker, has demons of his own to hide. As the danger gets closer to Abby, so does Ethan. But can they get past his secrets before the killer gets to them? Sometimes the sins of the mind are more depraved than the sins of the heart.

How can people find out more about you?

– We can be tracked down at http://www.garland-and-gould.blogspot.com/ where we blog, chat about stuff, and interview other authors.
– L.J. can be caught at www.lj-garland.com and emailed at mail@lj-garland.com You can also tweet her at @LJ_Garland1
– Debbie can be found at http://www.authordebbiegould.com/ and emailed at mountecho2006@yahoo.com.
– We love hearing from people who have enjoyed our stories!

And you can find Sins of the Mind here!

LJ GARLAND : Thank you so much for having us here today!
DEBBIE GOULD : Yes, thanks! We had an awesome time!

One thought on “Interview with LJ Garland and Debbie Gould

Leave a Reply

