Interview with Shonell Bacon

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

What first got me interested was playing What If? Even as a child, I played it. I would see a situation unfolding and would wonder how the situation might change if it were missing this element or if we adding that element to the mix. Over the years, What If? has kept me interested in understanding how people handle certain situations and writing about these people.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

My family has always been supportive. At the age of ten, I got my first diary. My mom bought it for me at a flea market. She already knew I wasn’t the girl to be gushing about crushes in a diary, and I had already started writing sports articles about the Baltimore Orioles in spiral notebooks and also started writing scripts to my fave soap opera at the time, The Guiding Light. She knew then what that diary would be used for: to write stories. My brothers and sister have all been supportive, too, listening to my story ideas, reading synopses as I work on novels, reading the finished product, etc.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

I’m a visual writer, so I have to see the movie of my story, from beginning to end, before I can commit something to the page. Now, in a pinch, I have written stories without following this, but I have to say I didn’t enjoy those stories in the end as much as I enjoy the stories that get to go through the process of being visually edited and revised.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Love what you write—be invested in it because your enjoyment of the story will radiate to the reader. Study the craft—because a writer never stops learning.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

Taking hold of my career and making it mine. I do so many other things that I often put my writing on the backburner. I have to constantly fight with myself to say you are a great writer and people want to read your stuff and you need to get off your butt and make it happen, TODAY.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

I get compliments a lot, and they are always part of what makes this journey so great. I’ve had one reader who has been patiently waiting for Into the Web to drop. Thought she would buy it as a Christmas 2011 gift for herself, but the pub date got pushed back to March. No matter, she said, it can be a St. Patrick’s Day gift to self. Then the pub date was pushed back to April, but she stuck in there and was one of the first ones to buy the book. I loved that I gotta have it now feeling that she displayed. I have others who have been messaging me on Facebook asking, “So, when is the next book dropping? I need to know!”

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

Actually, I don’t have a taste of nothing new now, boo! LOL I’m busy working on edits of others’ works and working on my dissertation. I do have a story I need to get done . . . soon, however! More on that via my website, http://shonellbacon.com, as it nears completion.

Tell us about your latest book.

Into the Web is about twin mystery novelists, Jovan and Cheyenne Parham. Readers met the women in Death at the Double Inkwell. ITW takes off about two years after DDIW end. In ITW, the twins are still working to pick up the pieces of their lives while trying to find a balance between their writing careers and the relationships they have. Their relationships and writing take a major hit when they find themselves connected to a string of murders involving young teenage girls who are lured off a popular teen social networking site to their deaths. Here’s the book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xsiU17qbBZQ

How can people find out more about you?

My website: http://shonellbacon.com

Facebook: http://facebook.com/shonbacon

Twitter: http://twitter.com/chicklitgurrl

2 thoughts on “Interview with Shonell Bacon

Leave a Reply

