Interview with Darlene Jones

I’d like to welcome author Darlene Jones to my blog today. Why not take a few minutes and read through her interview?

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

Hm, good question. I remember wanting to write when I was young and taking creative writing courses, but not really knowing how to go about the whole novel thing. I started seriously playing around with writing about 12 years ago. It was joining the provincial writing guild and getting into a critiquing group that really got me on the right track.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

My family have been great. They don’t mind the hours I spend on the computer or the time at writers’ conferences and that makes my writing time really guilt free.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

Most of my novels are written on yellow stickies – yes, you read right. I jot down notes when I’m sitting at red lights, and when I can’t sleep. The problem with writing the notes in the dark is that I often can’t read my scribbles in the morning or I find I’ve written one note on top of another and that’s impossible to decipher.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Don’t give up and do get yourself into a critiquing group. You need other sets of eyes and other perspectives that will be impartial. You can’t evaluate your own work objectively—you’re too close to it. Also, you know what you are thinking, but that doesn’t always come across clearly on the page. You need to know how a reader will see it.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

Marketing!!!!!! It’s almost more work than writing the book. Time consuming and no magic answers to get people’s attention.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

Many people have said nice things. This one from a male reader stands out. “Darlene, I cracked the back of Embattled two nights ago and I am captivated. Cool construct.” I really liked that I “captivated” a male reader with a female heroine.

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I’m getting book three of the series ready for publication and have to finish book four. Here’s a snippet from book three.

Abby propped the microphone above the bowl of Rice Krispies, turned the recorder on, and poured milk over the cereal. She listened to the resulting recording a dozen times. Yes, the snap and crackle resembled what she heard in her teeth, or rather in her fillings, every night. The pop not so much. But, so what? She slapped her forehead. “God, I’m stupid. Whatever made me think Rice Krispies would lead me to an answer?” She sighed. Yet another failed attempt to identify the sounds. She dumped out the cereal, rinsed the bowl, and left it on the counter for morning.

What the hell were they anyway—these snaps and crackles that jumped from one side of her jaw to the other like soggy Morse code? Stupid teeth. If she didn’t have so many fillings to carry the signals…

Signals? Why did that particular word keep coming to mind? Because she believed something out there was trying to contact her? “Jeez, girl, get a grip. But, what if aliens did really exist? “Like they’d be trying to contact me of all people.” It could be possible. Couldn’t it? Nah! The universe was a damn big chunk of stuff; suns and planets and moons and whatnot all swirling about out there. Earth couldn’t be the only inhabited bit of rock. But…, if the clickings were signals from some alien, shouldn’t she be scared out of her wits?

Tell us about your latest book.

In EMPOWERED, a young woman is convinced she is invincible. The visions she experienced as a child told her so. But, where will these wild beliefs lead? To love? To danger?

How can people find out more about you?

My website is www.emandyves.com and the best place to find out more about the books, links to buy and how to contact me.

Theresa, thank you so much for this chance to talk about my work. I hope you and your readers enjoy my novels.

You are more than welcome, Darlene.

One thought on “Interview with Darlene Jones

Leave a Reply

