Interview with Lisa Mondello

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

I have always written, even when I was very young.  I often say that writing chose me instead of the other way around.  When you have a passion for something…in my case music and stories…it’s something you inject into your life automatically.  You don’t think about it.  I love books, movies and story.  So I always wrote.  That passion has never faded.  So I will continue to write until if ever does.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

I am very aware that I’m blessed to have a supportive family.  From the time I was very young I knew my path in life wasn’t going to be typical and my entire family has been incredibly supportive from the time I managed a Boston/Worcester rock band all the way through to my writing.  I will say that many in my family don’t understand it, but they’ve given me nothing but support for it.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

Not really.  I always have a cup of coffee on my desk that usually ends up going cold while I’m writing.  So I refill all day.  I usually have music on and it becomes background noise or a soundtrack for what I’m writing.  I will say that when I get stuck on something I do no-mind work.  I get up and clean the house or do the laundry.  I think doing automatic physical work frees up my creative side so I can work through my story.  I get a lot of inspiration while doing housework.  Either that or I hate housework so much I’m just eager to get back to my story.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Keep writing.  It sounds so simple.  But that creative muscle is like a physical muscle.  You have to work it.  And in the face of rejection or critique, you still have to keep writing.  A lot of talented writers can’t take the business side of writing with the creative side and quit when they hear harsh criticism of their work.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

Getting enough hours in a day!  Like all working parents I have to balance my writing with family obligations.  I can usually do it unless I’m under deadline.  Then the entire house can fall apart around me until I get a project complete.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

Oh, wow.  There are too many to really pick one.  I have been blessed with getting a lot of positive response for my work.  I love hearing from readers.  I guess one that sticks out in my mind was one from a reader who was sitting vigil with her dying husband.  She wrote to tell me that for a few short hours my story had suspended her from her worry and grief and made it easier to make it through the night. 

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I am revising a single title romantic thriller called MATERIAL WITNESS, that will be released for publication mid-June.

Material Witness (A Romantic Thriller) by LA Mondello

Crime author Cassie Alvarez had murder on her mind when she walked into Rory’s Bar under dressed and under cover to research her latest crime novel.  Researching the cool, blue-eyed and dashingly handsome man at the end of the bar stirred her senses more than she wanted to admit.  But was this man of leather armor all he appeared to be?

Playing White Knight to an innocent wasn’t how Detective Jake Santos planned to spend his time under cover.  But there was no way “CJ” was what she claimed to be and that nagging tightness in Jake’s chest told him he’d better take her home to safety before she got herself in trouble.  Then the barroom exploded with gunfire.  When the dust clears, an FBI agent is killed along with Providence’s most notorious crime boss. 

Cassie is the only material witness who can identify the shooter.  But when her name is leaked to the media as his only witness to the grisly murders, the FBI wants to protect their case at all cost.  Cassie insists she only trusts Jake to protect her.  He gives his word he’ll protect her at all cost despite the fact that guarding the beautiful novelist is a serious distraction.  But can he keep from betraying her trust?

Tell us about your latest book.

I’ve just e-released my Texas Hearts series which includes HER HEART FOR THE ASKING, HIS HEART FOR THE TRUSTING and THE MORE I SEE.   

HER HEART FOR THE ASKING – Book 1

Mandy Morgan swore she’d never step foot in Texas again after Beau Gentry left her for life on the rodeo circuit eight years before. But now her uncle’s heart is failing and she has to convince him that surgery will save his life. She never dreamed the first thing she’d see when she stepped off the plane would be her biggest nightmare…the one man she’d never stopped loving.

Beau Gentry had the fever for two things: the rodeo and Mandy Morgan. But for Beau, loving Mandy was complicated by his father’s vendetta against her uncle. This led him to make the hardest decision of his life and he can still see the bitterness and hurt on Mandy’s face. All these years it has killed him to think Mandy had forgotten him and moved as far away as possible from him. But now they’re back in Texas, and he’s going to do all he can to win back her love.

How can people find out more about you?

I love hearing from readers so readers can email me at LisaMondello@aol.com, find me on Twitter at @LisaMondello or visit my blog at http://www.lisamondello.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

