Interview with Nia Shay

I’d like to welcome Nia Shay to my blog today as part of her CBLS Blog tour. Why not spent a minute or two and find out a bit more about her?

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

According to my dad, I’ve been telling stories ever since I learned to talk. The first real memory that stands out to me was a second grade writing assignment, where the teacher was impressed that I’d used dialog properly in my story. (I didn’t think I’d done anything special, I just wrote it how I saw it in the books I read! Had no idea the other kids hadn’t done the same.) I guess from then on I always had the mindset of myself as a writer. As for why I keep at it, if I didn’t have the excuse of character voices in my head, I might be qualified as clinically schizophrenic.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

Well…family and friends are proud of my talent, but support isn’t always there when I actually have to devote significant amounts of my time to writing. If you know what I mean…

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

No quirks really, but when writer’s block strikes, I sometimes have to turn the computer off and pick up the ol’ pen and notebook. Sounds weird—why should that make any difference, right? I guess the act of physically writing down the words uses a different part of the brain.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

If you have a story you want to tell, do it. Get the words on the paper and discover your style along the way. Don’t worry about how you “should” do it, or how famous authors do it. It’s YOUR dream—don’t compromise and don’t give up on it.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

I struggled for a long time with the decision to self-publish. So many people consider self-pubbing as a last resort for someone who couldn’t hack it the traditional way, but the truth is I never submitted Dark Angel’s Ward to a single publisher. It just never felt right. Looking at the bigger picture, this was the right choice for me.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

Well, I’m just starting to overcome my shyness and discomfort with tooting my own horn, LOL, but so far the feedback for Dark Angel’s Ward has been wonderful and very encouraging. Special kudos to Anne-Katherine Ubberud, who gave me my first official review!

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

The next installment of the Angel Warden series is in edits now. This one is a novella-length story that ties up a subplot within Dark Angel’s Ward and gives a glimpse of some issues that will follow the characters into the next full-length book, which I’m currently writing.

Tell us about your latest book.

Dark Angel’s Ward is the story of Jandra Maxwell, a young woman who has been recruited by a secret society to care for one of the last remaining dark angels, offspring born between human women and fallen angels. Jandra is Warden to Zeph—inhumanly beautiful, and incapable of human emotion. Jandra’s heart breaks when she realizes he can’t love her the way she loves him. Still, she’s willing (well, sort of) to risk everything when a long-buried secret threatens to destroy them both.

How can people find out more about you?

I’m on the web at http://cheznia.com, you can follow me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/author.nia.shay, or on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/nia_shay. Please drop by, I love meeting readers!

2 thoughts on “Interview with Nia Shay

  1. You really have been a great story teller, a weaver of words into dreams….granted I’m just a bit bias.

  2. Nothing wrong with writing the old-fashioned way with pen/pencil and paper. I understand that’s how J. K. Rowling did the entire HP series.

Leave a Reply

