Interview with Kristine Cayne

Theresa, I’d like to first thank you for having me on your blog and allowing me the opportunity to discuss my writing and new novel, Deadly Obsession, with you and your readers.

(You are more than welcome, Kristine.)

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

As a child in elementary school, I had a great time writing stories and dreamed of becoming a great author. But in high school that dream started to suffocate beneath the weight of projects and expository essays. In university, it met an indignant death when I wrote my Master’s of Computer Science thesis. How could I write fiction after completing a 300-page dissertation on “nested belief systems”? Are your eyes glazing over just reading that topic? After having my second child, I discovered Cherry Adair’s T-Flac series and Susanne Brockmann’s Troubleshooter’s series and, like a phoenix rising from the flames, the dream was reignited.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

My husband has been a great supporter of my writing since I first started taking it seriously. My kids? That’s another matter altogether J  My writing career seemed a lot more “real” to my family and friends once they saw the print book. Before that, they considered my writing “a cute hobby.”

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

I make a point of not letting myself get caught up in any superstitions regarding writing. My schedule is so crazy, the last thing I need is writer’s block because I’ve misplaced my purple-haired troll or my red sequined boa, LOL.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

The two most important things I’d advise new writers to do are:

1)      Write, write, write. Try to write as much as you can, every day if possible, even if it’s just a page.

2)      Learn, learn, learn. Join a writer’s group, attend conferences, or take a writing class or workshop. Writing is a craft and like all crafts, it only gets better with practice. A lot of practice.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

I have a family and a day job, so the biggest challenge with my writing has been making time to write. My new year’s resolution is to improve my time management. It’s a resolution I’ll need to keep if I want to be able to juggle all my new and exciting writing projects!

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

The best compliment I ever received on my writing was a judge in the Orange Rose contest. She said: “I loved this entry. I’d buy the book! In fact, let me know when this book comes out. I’m already a fan!”

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

Right now I’m working on Deadly Addiction, the second book in my Deadly Vices series. Here’s the blurb:

Rémi Whitedeer, police officer turned substance-abuse counselor, dreams of restoring order to his tribe. A civil war is brewing on the unpoliced Iroquois reserve between the Guardians, a militant traditionalist group, and other tribal factions. Adding to the conflict, provincial police sergeant Alyssa Morgan is assigned to set up a native provincial squad on the reserve.

When Rémi and Alyssa uncover the Guardians’ drug-fueled scheme to fund their fight for true autonomy—a scheme involving the Vipers, a biker gang from Alyssa’s past—Rémi must choose between loyalty to family and tribe or his growing love for Alyssa. Can Rémi and Alyssa leave everything behind—even their very identities—for the chance at a future together?

Tell us about your latest book.

Deadly Obsession is the first in my Deadly Vices romantic suspense series. Nic Lamoureux is a Hollywood movie star who seems to have the perfect life. But it’s a perfect life that hides a dark past. A perfect life that is shattered by a stalker who’ll stop at nothing to have him.

When Nic meets photographer Lauren James, the attraction is instant—and mutual. She’s exactly the sort of woman he craves, but the stalker makes deadly clear Lauren is the competition. And the competition must be eliminated.

How can people find out more about you?

People can visit my website/blog at (htttp://www.kristinecayne.com). I’m also on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/KristineCayneAuthor) and Twitter (http://twitter.com/KristineCayne), and Goodreads (http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5428452.Kristine_Cayne).

Where Can I find Deadly Obsession?

Deadly Obsession is available in print (coming soon) and/or e-book format at the following retailers:

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with Kristine Cayne

  1. I have read this book and it is really good. Good suspense …a page turner. I am looking forward to reading the next books in your series.

Leave a Reply

