Welcome W. Lynn Chantale

I’d like to welcome a fellow Whispers author to my blog today, W. Lynn Chantale. In honor of the Christmas season coming up this month,  she’s telling us what some of her favorite things are.

My Favorite Things

Ahh, the Christmas season is upon us. Some radio stations are playing nothing but Christmas music. I never knew there were 800 versions of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. I have to admit one of my favorite carols is Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer. My favorite movie is It’s a Wonderful Life with Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed. I still watch a Charlie Brown Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, Twas The Night Before Christmas. I have a soft spot for A Christmas Carol starring Patrick Stewart, Miracle on 34th Street, hmm and How the Grinch Stole Christmas, cartoon. Sorry Jim Carrey, but Thurl Ravenscroft singing ‘You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch’ totally makes the show.

Still Christmas for me just isn’t Christmas until I hear one very special song. Hearing this song, no matter where I am or how far away from home I happen to be reminds me of my brothers and sister, my mom and dad. For me, Donny Hathaway’s ‘This Christmas’ sets the right tone and chases away the ache of missing my family. And wherever we are in our lives we play this song throughout the holidays and know the other is playing it too.

Until next time, Indulge Your Inner Romantic

Website: http://wlynnchantale.com

Blog: http://wlynnchantale-decadentdecisions.blogspot.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/wlynnchantale

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/W.LynnChantaleAuthor

8 thoughts on “Welcome W. Lynn Chantale

  1. There are so many lovely christmas songs and i confess, I’m more of the traqditional christmas song lover than the newer ones.

    I LOVE Miracle on 34th street as well as A Wonderfl Life. My oldest son played the young George Bailey in a play when he was sixteen. It was one of my proudest moments. 🙂

    Great post!

  2. Hi Kiru, the hard part was deciding which ones to include. There are so many which bring back special memories.

    Hi Shiela, I’ll bet I wish I could talk my son into acting. He’s a natural.

    Thank you both for dropping by.

  3. There are 800 versions of the Rudolph song?! I had no idea.

    I do like your selections. I haven’t seen It’s a Wonderful Life in a while, but there was a time when I watched it EVERY SINGLE YEAR. I like the onscreen chemistry between Stewart and Reed. One of my favorite scenes in the movie is probably when they’re dancing and the floor opens up to the pool. Everybody’s staring at them and they just keep going, thinking they’re dancing is what has everyone enthralled. Lol. And of course, the heartwarming message makes it perfect for the holiday season.

  4. I couldn’t begin to agree with you more, Kiru, about the movies and the songs. I’m addicted to Christmas music! And 800 versions of Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer? I don’t think I could listen to many versions of that!

    This is my favorite time of the year, and I love reading everyone’s holiday traditions and favorite things!

  5. I agree Christmas is about bringing people together whether near or far. 😉
    The selections you picked define a true Christmas…although you forgot an American classic “A Christmas Story” no matter how much I dislike it, it is always good background noise. I really enjoyed this posting. Thanks W Lynn 😉

  6. Hi Sarah, I didn’t forget A Christmas Story, the one where the little boy wants a BB gun? I just don’t have anything nice to say about the movie. 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by.

    Hi Delaney, the pool scene is one of my favorites. I also like while George saves the savings and loan, Mary has prepared a honeymoon dinner at the old house.

    Hi Marie It seems everyone is nicer at Christmas. I think that’s one of my favorite parts.

Leave a Reply

