Interview with Heaven Liegh Eldeen

I’d like to welcome Heaven Liegh Eldeen to my blog today. She answered a few questions for me about writing and her book, The Demon Side.

Now let’s hear what she has to say —

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

I’ve always had a passion and drive toward writing, but always let my inner demons of doubt talk me out of pursuing it. Then, two years ago, I was challenged by a family to write something better than the books we had been sharing. I sat down at my computer and next thing you know, the passion roared up and demolished every bit of doubt I ever had.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

When I started writing, my circle of support was very small, consisting of only my husband. As I got further and further into my novella The Demon Side, that circle has grown with every chapter. Now that it is published, my support network is huge, consisting of friends, family and fans. It is not only incredible but emotionally overwhelming at times. It’s made me somewhat of a cry baby, but I cry tears of joy.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

For the life of me, I cannot write unless I have a Pepsi, bag of Hershey’s Kisses and my IPod is on full blast, at home. I’ve tried writing in quiet places but have found it doesn’t work for me. Silence causes my mind to wander, which is probably why I have so many works in progress. I once tried working in a nationwide coffee chain but got kicked out because of my IPod being on too loud.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

It sounds corny and I am sure you have all heard it all too often, but no advices rings truer than never…ever…never give up. Every rejection letter is one step closer to an acceptance letter. And remember, your success can only be measured by what you put in the scales.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

The biggest challenge I am facing is finding more time to write. I have been spending a lot of my free time on Facebook with my fans, answering there questions and just hanging out with them. I absolutely love it but I do need to cut back just a smidgen and finish the sequel before they form a mob and start chasing me with pitchforks.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

Oh the best thing I have heard to date comes from a fellow author, Lisa Worrall. Not only did she say she loves The Demon Side, she posted a review on her blog. Hearing her thoughts and reading her review sent me to cloud nine!

“What can I say about this first scintillating tale from Ms Eldeen?  Let me think…there are a few words that come to mind…awe-inspiring (is that two? My blog – my rules)… brilliant… engaging… page-turning… edge of my seat (sue me)… fan-bloody-tastic stuff!

I literally opened The Demon Side this afternoon and I could not put it down, well didn’t WANT to put it down…I did put it down to feed the children, but this was very reluctantly and with much muttering under the breath – they’re six and eight – I’m busy, can’t they figure out how to peel a potato between them?  I digress… after a few interruptions that were silenced with an “I’m busy!”  I finished it in a little over three hours.”

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

If you ask my husband, I’m working on way too many projects. He can’t understand how I keep them all straight. I am currently working on six other novels, including the second book in The Demon Side trilogy. In book two, The Human Side, told from Etta’s perspective, we find our main characters, Ra, Etta, John and Rene, trying to pick up the pieces of their lives, while dealing with new happenings. Once again, good versus evil will collide around Etta, but our hero may just surprise you.

Here’s a couple unedited paragraphs of The Human Side just for your readers.

Neon green eyes pierced through the darkness. The figure slowly appeared from the shadows. Half snake, half human creature with wild fangs and a long forked tongued. Behind me stood another figure, a man with the wings of a vulture. His half scorched face is lowered in defeat. Liquid gold tears stream down his chiseled cheeks and pool around his muddy feet. As he stares at his reflection in his pool of golden tears, the snake creature lunges at him knocking him down onto his back. The winged man doesn’t try to rise, or fight back. He lies there now staring at me. His eyes are pleading me but I don’t know for what. Is he asking for help or telling me to run?

My heart says help him but the harder and farther I run toward him the farther away he seems. Just as I seem to get within reach of the winged man, the piercing neon green eyes dart toward me. I freeze in my tracks and watch as the creature curls his tail around the man flipping him onto his belly. A clawed foot presses the man down as deformed hands wrap around the base of his wings and rips them off. The ground beneath me begins to crack as the creature slithers toward me. And then, my alarm goes off waking me up from the same nightmare I’ve had almost every night for the past year. For the first few months I’d wake up gasping for air but now the dream was routine.

Tell us about your latest book.

My novel The Demon Side revolves around Rahovart, a Demon banished to Earth over five hundred years ago. For centuries, he spends his free time feeding himself on the fear he creates by scaring Quantico, Virginia locals. A master of his craft, Rahovart doesn’t think twice when a new family, the Divad’s, move into the Victorian home he dwells in.

With a workaholic father, an alcoholic step-mother and a schizophrenic eighteen year old girl, the dysfunctional family unknowingly offers the perfect arsenal for Rahovart to plan his tricks. That is until he learns their daughter; Etta can not only see Demons but is already being tormented by Alastor, an incubus. What starts as a turf war between him, Alastor and the Arch Angels, soon becomes a battle deep within Rahovart of good versus evil and more importantly love versus hate.

How can people find out more about you?

I am an internet addict so I have a ton of links. Just wrap the mouse around my arm and start clicking for a vein!

The Demon Side is available at:

http://www.decadentpublishing.com

http://www.amazon.com

http://www.smashwords.com

http://www.bookstrand.com

http://www.allromanceebooks.com

Follow us on:

http://www.heaveneldeen.com

http://www.heavenliegheldeen.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/thedemonside

http://www.twitter.com/thedemonside.

http://www.myspace.com/thedemonside

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/heaven-eldeen/42/746/874

Here’s a blurb of The Demon Side

Every kid has problems. Every kid has even more problems when they move to a new home. But when a kid with problems moves to a new home that has a Demon living inside it—look out!

Etta’s world is about to spin out of control when she encounters her new roommate—and Rahovart, that ancient trickster, is in for a few surprises too. So don’t mind all the crashing and rumbling; that’s just the normal noise Angels and Demons make when they’re fighting an epic war in the attic.

One thing’s for sure: Etta and Rahovart will have to go through Hell to Heaven and back again before that old Victorian home in Quantico Town finally quiets down…

And a bit about the author —

Heaven started her writing career two years ago after being challenged by a relative to write something different than the barrage of vampire novels on the market. With her ‘Oh, Yes I can!’ attitude, determination and support from her family, she completed her first novel The Demon Side, releasing this October. When she’s not kissing owies, climbing Mount Dishmore, or obsessing over her Facebook book page, you can find her at the computer revising or editing one of her five works in progress.  Having lived in many states, she has now settled down in California with her husband, her son and a beta fish named Barry.

 Website / Blog / Facebook / Twitter / Myspace / Publisher

2 thoughts on “Interview with Heaven Liegh Eldeen

Leave a Reply

