Pushing for Promotion by Stacy Eaton

Stacy wrote a great post on promotion. Some  good, helpful advice. I especially like the last paragraph. I’ve also got the blurb for Blue Blood for Life as well as an excerpt for you to sample and enjoy.

Don’t forget to check out the next stop on her CBLS Blog tour at A Page in My Life tomorrow. Here’s the link

http://leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com/

Now let’s read my guest’s post —

Thank you so much for allowing me to come and visit with you today!  I really appreciate being here and that you have asked me to talk a little bit about promotion. I hope your readers enjoy it!

Pushing for Promotion…

Your plot is decided and your words are written.  You’ve approved your cover, had your manuscript edited, formatted and finally uploaded it. You’re excited because now you can sit back and wait for the sales to roll in.  Being as you are so excited and you have told just about anyone who would listen to you, you except the sales to just start rolling in. Right???  Don’t we all expect the sales to start rolling in the moment we upload our books?

Well, as much as I hate to say it, that doesn’t happen overnight.  Of course as soon as you tell people that your new book is out your family and good friends, and yes of course yourself will push that button to purchase that book, but what about everyone else? What if you are a brand new author and this is your first book? Well as most new authors will tell you, it doesn’t happen overnight! It won’t even happen in one month.  It takes time and it takes a lot of patience and it takes something else that is huge… It takes PROMOTION.

Promotion is the number one thing any new author can do; well any author not just the new ones.  It requires time and patience and being a real pain in the butt sometimes.  You not only have to sell your book, but you have to sell yourself. You have to become a brand, like Coke or Twitter or Ford; become something that people recognize.

Over the last month, I have spent a lot of time working on this whole promotion thing. My first book came out in April and each month I would have a few sales. People that were reading my book were telling me they really enjoyed it.  So why wasn’t I getting more sales?  I figured it out… I wasn’t promoting myself enough. I wasn’t forcing my name out there so others would “brand” me.  So now this month, with changes I have made and things that I am doing, I am finally seeing a REAL growth in my sales.

So what have I done? What can you do to see a quadruple in your monthly sales?  PROMOTE! Sell yourself and your book.  Show people who you are, why they should read your work. In this last month, I have tweeted more than I ever have.  I have posted more on Facebook then I ever did. I’ve made new friends on Goodreads and I have joined other groups and found friends that are supportive.  I blogged more then I usually do, and I make sure that I visit other peoples blogs and not only read but take a moment to comment on them.

I think the single most important thing you can do to help build your brand is to surround yourself with other authors that want to do the same thing. Help others and they will help you.  Promote other authors and they will be there for you too.  Be excited about what you are doing, step out of your box of comfort and reach out to people that you would not normally have tried to reach. Find blogs in your genre and find out who you might be able to join in.

Getting your name out there for people to see over and over again will cause them to brand you.  After a while of seeing you in different places all over the internet they will come to recognize you. Recently I have had two people tell me, “I’ve seen you and your books a couple of times, I just put them on my ‘to read’ list”.  That’s branding!  It took them a few times in a bunch of different places to finally decide, Okay this really looks good.

So as you start your promoting… start searching for ways to get out there.  Of course we all know about Twitter and Facebook, but get involved with Google +, Goodreads, blogs, reading groups and other author groups.  Get your blog up and moving… Invite other authors to guest on your blog in return for you to be on theirs, do giveaways and ask for reviews. Then once you are out there and you start doing things, make sure you share them over and over again.

One other word… Take the time to talk to people, take the time to tell them Thank you.  Tell them you appreciate them, say hello and comment on something they said.  When people see you paying attention to them, they will pay more attention to you.  When a person feels that they know you even a little bit they are more apt to share that with someone else.  And no matter what someone says or does… always be nice, no matter what.

BLURB:

“You belong to me… for life…”

After a month off, Kristin comes back to work happier then she’s been in a long time. Her new status in life has her solving crimes faster and better than she ever could before.
When Alex goes missing, Kristin finds she finally has to reveal the secrets of her life to her friends. Will they be able to stand beside her after they learn all that she has hidden from them?

Julian and Gabe stand beside her faithfully as they try to locate Alex. They are surprised to find Trent in Fawn Hollow, but know that Trent may be the only one to do what Alex has asked them to do. As one more choice is taken away from Kristin, she attempts to make the best of it, but finds herself drawn to Trent in a way Julian and Alexander could never compare to.

Trent goes to work with Kristin to keep her safe but will he be able to handle all that her police world entails? Can he handle the side of her that she reveals, the one that Alex and Julian know nothing about? When Kristin and Trent uncover the connection between her job and the kidnapping, they are finally able to put the pieces together, but can they get to Alex fast enough? Will Kristin be able to handle rescuing Alex and all that she learns in the process?

Join Kristin, Julian, Trent and Alexander as they dive into a new mystery that will have you turning the pages quickly to find out who is responsible and how Kristin’s life is forever changed once again.

EXCERPT #1:

Chapter 11 – Julian’s Arrival

As I got closer, I watched as Kristin transformed from calmness to increasing bloodlust. She latched onto Trent with her legs and tried to pull him toward her so she could reach his neck. Astonishment raced through me as I watched her get out of control. What was going on?

Trent was fighting to keep Kristin off his neck as I came up on the other side of the car. When Trent looked up and saw me, I saw a moment of relief flash through his eyes.

“Trent, I’m going to grab her from behind. Unlock her legs from around you as soon as I tell you and push her away,” I told him as I reached over the top of the small car.

“Now!” I yelled at him as I pulled her back over the car. Trent had pushed her so hard that we both fell back onto the ground. Kristin froze for a moment in my arms, caught by surprise, but it didn’t last long because she quickly flipped over and went for my throat.

The words Alex wrote ran through my mind again … “Whatever it takes … protect her …” I put my hand on the back of her head and held her to my throat as her canine teeth broke the skin and I felt the first pulls of my blood leaving my body. I knew she had no idea who I was or what she was doing, but that didn’t stop me from taking this moment.

She greedily pulled from my neck, and I felt the lust rising in her as she pushed her body hard against mine. My body reacted immediately, and it took every ounce of strength to not bite down on her neck and take her right there. Trent broke through my pull at the lust when he

shouted at me.

“Julian! What the hell are you doing?” I felt him grab Kristin, and I felt her trying to fight him off. I wanted to stop him myself, but his next words rang true in my ears. “You can’t let her do that! Especially not here!”

I pushed up on Kristin as Trent pulled her from behind, quickly removing her from our position on the ground, at the same time, taking a quick look around and seeing the eyes of three startled women watching me, probably all friends of Kristin’s. I wasn’t sure who was going to be madder at me for what I was going to do next—the friends, Trent, or Kristin.

BUY LINKS:

Website: http://stacyseatoncom.fatcow.com/purchase-books.html
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Blood-Life-Book-ebook/dp/B005R0S8EI/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1317399578&sr=8-5
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/blue-blood-for-life-stacy-eaton/1106076538?ean=9781432778323&itm=1&usri=stacy%2beaton
Outskirts Press, Inc.: http://outskirtspress.com/bookstore/9781432778323.html

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Currently I work full time as a Police Officer for a small township is Southeastern Pennsylvania. While my current position is that of a patrol officer, I spend a lot of my time doing investigations and crime scene processing.  Forensics is something I love and I take my job seriously.

I am also a wife to a Police Officer and with our constant schedules life can get very hectic in our home. I have been blessed with two children, a son who is currently in the United States Navy and I am very proud of him for what he is doing and for putting serving his Country. My daughter is a priceless princess who loves to help me market my books to teachers and other parents while she is at school and church.

When I am not working the job that currently pays all the bills I work on my business. Yes, I have my own business too.

I have two Shiloh Shepherd dogs, Garda and Callie. They are a bit different than the standard German Shepherds most people are use to. They are larger and less aggressive and they have more fur!  Man do they have fur!!!  Garda has a face that resembles a wolf, which makes me love him even more. (You can see by my photo that I wear a wolf pendant). Garda actually means “The Guardian” in Irish. It is also the name of the Irish Police.  Rather fitting for our family of officers don’t you think?

In my spare time…I write.

CONTACT LINKS

Website: http://stacyseatoncom.fatcow.com/

Visit my Blog: http://stacyeatonauthor.blogspot.com/

And, don’t forget now, Stacy will be at A Page in My Life tomorrow. Here’s the link —

http://leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com/

 

6 thoughts on “Pushing for Promotion by Stacy Eaton

  1. Lacey – It’s takes time – and work – but it is worth it – thank you for visiting!

    LeeAnn – Thank you so much for allowing me to stop by again today and allowing me to talk about promoting! Readers and Authors need to understand the importance of it!

  2. Stacy, thanks for these great tips on promotion! I’m afraid that too many authors think that good writing is enough, but authors need to spend some time letting people know about their books/creating a brand, if they wish to find an audience.

  3. An interesting post. As an author I’m always on the look-out for ways to get my books ‘out there’ – but I hate promotion. I just can’t be a pushy type – guess I’m just too shy.

  4. Great article. You have some really helpful tips. I’ve been trying my best to take the steps you mentioned, but sometimes it’s hard to find the time to write and promote too. It really is a struggle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

