Sizzling PR — Interview with Madison J. Edwards

I want to welcome Madison J. Edwards to my blog today. She was kind enough to answers a few questions for me.

The next stop out her Sizzling tour is at Cocktails and Books.

Now let’s here what Madison has to say —

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

I’m not sure what got me interested in writing. When I made the decision to write I told my husband, went into the den, and opened up a word document.

The blinking cursor taunted me.

This was a little over two years ago. What have kept me going are the stories in my head and heart. They come to me like movies. Scenes, dialogue and descriptions flash in my mind, and the challenge is to transcribe what I ‘see’ into words, so the reader is right there with me. I gain immense satisfaction when someone reads my work, and then tell me they loved, or hated, or cried, exactly where they were supposed to.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

I have total support from family and friends. Do they tug at my writing time? Absolutely. I work outside the home, so writing time is in the evening. I am NOT a morning person. Three nights a week are set aside for family and friends. However, everybody knows that if I’m in the middle of a scene, or having a fabulous writing session, I can disappear for days.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

Nothing yet. That might change.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Any advice I could give to an aspiring author is to write, write, edit/revise, and write some more. Also, find a critique partner, and find someone who’s not afraid to hurt your feelings.

We become attached to scenes and descriptions and have to be pried away from the keyboard, leaving claw marks etched on our desks before we’ll toss that Pulitzer Prize winning diatribe. If your writing buddy agrees with everything you write, you won’t learn.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

I want every sentence, every page, every chapter to grab the reader, and make them want more. This means digging deep within to feel what my characters feel, smell what they smell, activate all five senses, and then put this into words so the reader can enter the action with me.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

This e-mail came from a first time reader. What touched me most was this person took the time to find my website to let me know how my story touched her heart.

I just finished According to Plan, and I must tell you that it is the sweetest, sexiest, well written erotic romance story I’ve read in a while. I usually “tolerate” the female lead who plays opposite an alpha male. But you created an absolutely wonderful, believable, funny, sexy woman that I came to care a lot about. Of course, I’m in love with Tank! I’ve read about 800 romance genre books over the past two years, and as a tech writer, you can imagine how few stories I would give 5 out of 5 stars to. Yours was, hands down, five stars. Great story, beautifully executed. You are a new-to-me author, and I look forward to reading more of your wonderful books. Thanks for making me smile today.

This e-mail solidified the reason why I do this.

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I’m working on a Paranormal, Craven Desires; with so many layers it’s driving me crazy. Here is an excerpt from Chapter Two:

The tour finally made its way to the second floor and turned right. Eve lagged further and further behind until she crested the top of the grand staircase and stopped. Cassie tugged at her arm, “Come on. We’re falling behind.”

“Wait. This looks interesting.”

The hallway extended to the left for almost thirty feet. An obscure entrance at the end melted into the wall. Eve assumed this would be the servant’s staircase, as the kitchen lay directly below. But what caught her interest was a door in the middle of the hall, which unlike all the others, stood slightly ajar. From the dark and gloomy corridor, the room beyond beckoned with natural brightness from the afternoon sun.

“Eve, we’re going to lose them.” Cassie almost vibrated with impatience, and kept glancing toward the group which had gone into a room at the other end of the hall.

Although Cassie had declared in awe this castle was ‘ginormous’, Eve knew her edginess didn’t stem from a desire to see more of the buildings and grounds. The tour guide turned out to be a young man, looking romantic and dashing in his kilt and tailored cotton shirt, and Cassie had an instant crush on him.

When Eve reminded her of Martin back home, she’d promptly replied, “I love Martin with all my heart, but when eye candy such as this comes along, I’m definitely going to look. No touching, just sighing, drooling, and lots and lots of dreaming.”

Eve would have followed Cassie, but she needed to see what was behind the door.

“Give me a minute. I want to look in this room. You go ahead, I’ll catch up.”

Cassie shrugged and scurried to catch up with the group. Eve approached the heavy door, and pushed it open. She faltered in the doorway to a spacious bed chamber. Large, uncovered windows allowed light to spill into the room, giving it a cheery feeling, even though it was bare of furniture.

In her mind’s eye, Eve clearly saw where a wooden tub could have been placed in front of the fireplace. Would it have been the same room Evelyn had found Craven bathing? The answer to that question resonated in her mind¾ very likely. Eve entered the room, and walked over to one of the three windows. In her heart of hearts, she knew she’d be overlooking a private garden. A garden where she’d have spent hours sewing or reading.

A noise by the fireplace stopped her in her tracks. A brief memory tugged at her soul. There was something about the fireplace. She crossed the room, stopping in front of the massive stone hearth and ran her fingers along the mantel, then around the right side. She felt a lever and pulled. Beside the fireplace, a narrow door opened without even a creak.

Mouth suddenly dry, Eve dragged the door open wider and stepped over the threshold. Narrow stairs, choked with spider webs, wound their way upwards. Her foot on the first step, she cried out when a hand came down on her shoulder.

“Where do you think you’re going?”

Eve turned, and faced the most handsome man she’d ever laid eyes on. The only other place she’d seen anyone this good looking had been in fashion magazines. He towered over her, and always a sucker for big men, her knees weakened further.

Had he been in the tour group? It was then she noticed he was dressed in full Highland regalia, right down to soft leather boots, kilt and sporran. Maybe he worked at the castle, entertaining tourists as well.

“I was checking out this passageway. I hope it’s all right.” Eve winced when she heard how she sounded. Like a babbling brook. Something she always did when nervous.

Although he hadn’t moved closer, she felt trapped at the foot of the stairs, with his large frame blocking her exit back into the bed chamber.

“Aye. Of course it’s all right. I told you before these rooms are for your private use.”

“You told me?” Eve blinked in surprise. When had she spoken with him? There’s no way she’d forget something like that, with someone like him.  Had Cassie set her up? Ever since they’d spoken with Shanon, Cassie teased mercilessly that Eve was the lady of the castle, and her long lost lover walked the halls, waiting for her.

“Aye. I thought mayhap you were planning on leaving me.”

Eve’s brow puckered into a frown. The scent of leather surrounded him and she idly wondered if he’d been riding. Her stomach did a little flip, imagining him astride a horse.

His white linen shirt did nothing to hide the expanse of his chest. In fact it made him seem broader across the shoulders. Would he have any tattoos, like the pagan barbarian on the cover of her book? It was at that moment she realized where she’d seen him before and blurted out, “Besides working here, have you modeled before?”

“Have I mod-elled?” Given the tone, Eve knew the answer would be a solid no. Could the floor please open and swallow her now? With his looks, women probably threw themselves at him all day, and here she stood, blubbering like a class act idiot. Cassie had better show up soon, and explain what was going on.

“I’m sorry if my friend set you up for this, but I’ve got to catch up with the rest of the group.”

“So you are leaving me.” His tone remained neutral, although Eve sensed a quiet frustration. It was as if he waited, breath held, to see what she’d do next.

“You said that before. What do you mean, leaving you?”

The man pointed at her clothes. “Your clothing. Although a bit strange, t’would be best suited for riding and you carry a bag.”

Eve looked down at her jeans and shifted the backpack more comfortably on her shoulder. “My clothing isn’t strange…” She trailed off when the man moved and she saw the room she’d exited only a few minutes ago.

What had been an empty room, full of dust and spider webs, was now fully furnished and sparkling clean. A large bed dominated one side of the bed chamber, and a heavy wooden wardrobe, doors open wide, was filled with long, flowing dresses. Beneath the window, a delicate table held brushes, combs and a mirror, with a padded stool tucked under it.

Without thinking, she pushed by the man and stopped a few steps past the fireplace. This couldn’t be happening. How did she get here? Her blood ran ice cold when he whispered, “You weren’t trying to run away, were you, Wife?”

Tell us about your latest book.

What do you do when things do go According to Plan? For starters you trick, deceive and lie to the very person who ruined your best laid plans.

Welcome to the world of Shelby Stewart, P.I., who’s been hired to find Harrison Grant. To complicate matters further, Tank— the ex-partner, ex-lover, ex-everything— shows up looking for Harrison as well, albeit for a very different reason. Harry is the prime suspect in the grisly murder of a call girl in L.A.

That wouldn’t be so bad, but Tank plans on staying at Shelby’s house, and makes it obvious he’s willing to help her heat the sheets again. Shelby knows that sex with Tank is dangerous, fast and sometimes a little dirty. Now is not the time to become side-tracked. Besides, this job could launch her company into a whole new stratosphere, so it’s imperative she remain focused.

Frustration becomes Shelby’s newest partner as she makes plans to out maneuver Tank in their parallel quest. Tank, on the other hand, is always one step ahead of the game – and isn’t what or whom Shelby thought.

Shelby doesn’t want to be hurt by Tank again. A year ago he walked out on her for another woman. Tank loves Shelby so much he’s allowed her to hate him. This was the only way to keep her alive and safe. But the danger has passed, and now Tank can start tearing down the walls Shelby’s erected. But first he’ll start with a kiss.

How can people find out more about you?

You can visit my website www.madisonjedwards.com. I have information and excerpts posted from my books. If you’d like to purchase a copy of According to Plan, it’s available at Amazon.com: and All Romance eBooks

More about Madison —

The Prairie dust is in my blood, but no longer on my shoes.

Madison grew up around ranchers and farmers and always assumed she’d become a farmer’s wife, raise the requisite four boys, and make sure there was always enough pie at community social functions. Imagine her surprise when she found herself married to an Air Force pilot, moving around the country every two years on the government’s ticket and her family of four boys was decreased by two.

With hubby deployed all over the world, Madison quickly became father and mother and soon discovered, with two active, thriving, can find trouble anywhere boys, that what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Ask her sons. Don’t mess with the Mama.

Her sons are grown with families of their own and Madison finally pursued her dream, which was to put fingers to keyboard and write a book. On January 25, 2011 that dream was realized with the sale of According to Plan.

Madison resides in London, Ontario with her husband and two very spoiled Scottish Fold cats. She is a member of the Romance Writers of Ontario, Toronto Romance Writers and Passionate Ink.

Links:

Website

Goodreads

Blog

Facebook

According to Plan – Official Site

Book Trailer

3 thoughts on “Sizzling PR — Interview with Madison J. Edwards

Leave a Reply

