CBLS Promotions — Interview with Sable Hunter

I’d like to welcome Sable Hunter to my blog today for the last stop of her CBLS Promotions tour. (That’s Coffee Beans & Love Scenes Promotions.)  She was gracious enough to answers a few questions for me. She’s also giving away a ebook copy of her book to one lucky commenter. 

Now let’s get to the interview —

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

I have always loved to write, but never dreamed that I would choose it as a career.  At first, I wrote because I couldn’t find the type of books that I wanted to read.  This was before I discovered the world of erotic romances and found that the wonder of these stories – fully plotted romance novels – yet, they take you behind the closed bedroom door – existed out there and were just what I was longing for.

Sometimes, I just needed to escape, so I would create a world that I wanted to live in.  I yearned for a reality where right prevails over wrong, love conquers all and holding out for a hero is not an impossible dream.

So, I write what I enjoy and now that I have had the wonderful experience of hearing from readers who love the stories and worlds that I’ve created – I am fully and completely hooked on putting out as many novels as I can.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

I do have the support of my family and friends – especially my brother.  He was on the cover of all of my self-published novels and he used to hand my books out at the University of Texas in Austin.  He said they were pretty good babe-magnets.  My ninety three year old grandmother reads them and fans herself.  She almost missed her weekly standing hair appointment one day when she was reading a particularly hot passage.  She asked me once if I only wrote about well-endowed men.  I told her – that yes, I think all of my heroes were rather ‘large’.  She said – ‘good’, she didn’t want to waste her time reading about a man with a small willie.

And no – the support has not changed since I have become traditionally published – but they are happy and proud of me.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

My most interesting writing quirk would have to be that I write best with an animal around.  I usually write curled up in my recliner with my computer on my lap and my wiener dog by my side.  I like to keep a diet dr pepper near enough to grab and a couple of large sour pickles to munch on.

I never start a new book on Friday – – hey, I’m from New Orleans – we’re up on our supernatural suspicions down here.

What advice would you give to a new writer? 

My advice would be to BOLDLY GO FORTH!  There are so many avenues open to writers now.  Self-publishing is one way to go and I have had success with it.  Also there are ebook publishers who love to give new writers a chance.  Really, there is no excuse for a good writer to not get published now – – it just takes a lot of hard work.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

I have had two big challenges:  the first came when I was exposed in my small backwoods, conservative town as an erotic romance writer.  I thought they were going to tar and feather me.  There were sermons preached about me and some women would not speak to me in the grocery store – – but my local sales skyrocketed!  It was horrible, funny and sad all at the same time.  What I did was to change my name – go underground – and reemerge with a new identity and keep on writing and having a good time.  What else could I do?

The second big challenge was realizing that my success was up to me.  If I wanted to sell books then I wrote the very best work that I could and then advertised, blogged, networked, interviewed, looped, chatted and promoted the hell out of it.  The more you work, the more you sell.  It is just the way it is.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

Yes, I have been fortunate to receive a lot of communications from my readers and 99.99 percent of the time they are highly complimentary.  My favorite things that they have said was that the ‘sex’ in my books was ‘delicious’ and that it seemed like they (the reader) was hiding in the bushes watching – it was just that real.  Another told me that my books made them laugh and cry – and I took that as a huge compliment.

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I am just finishing up HER MAGIC TOUCH – the third in my Hell Yeah! Series.  Here is just a few paragraphs of it.

Joseph McCoy’s philosophy was simple; every woman needs multiple orgasms in order to be happy.  Without a doubt, he had done his part in spreading happiness to as many beautiful, deserving women as possible.  The latest candidate for his benevolent attention was leaning forward, displaying her silicon enhanced chest for his viewing enjoyment.  “Tell me, Mr. McCoy, what do you consider to be your greatest accomplishment?”  She asked a follow-up question before he could get his mind in gear to answer.  “Was it when you won the Doak Walker Award for being the best running back in college football?”

Tearing his eyes from her impressive cleavage, Joseph flashed the reporter one of his trade-mark dimpled grins.  “No ma’am.”  Like all the McCoy brothers, you could rake southern charm off of him with a stick. “I consider what I achieved off the gridiron to be more important.”  He was referring to family issues, but she couldn’t get her mind out of the bedroom.

With a sly little wink and a cheeky little smile, the interviewer from Texas Extreme flirted for all she was worth.  “I’ve heard rumors of your – uh – prowess in many different areas, Mr. McCoy.”

As he felt his dick rise to the occasion, Joseph checked the clock on the wall.  Hell!  He didn’t have time to diddle with the little darlin’.  If he was going to make it to Marble Falls in time for the pre-race show, he needed to be on the road in the next fifteen minutes.  “In this case, the rumors happen to be true.”  He watched her eyes turn dark with passion.  She was turned on, bless her heart.  Damn his charm!  Knowing it was up to him to get her mind back on the interview, he took charge.  “My greatest achievement is my family, Ms. Warner.  I’m proud of the fact that Aron, Jacob and I have been able to band together and create a good home for our younger brothers.  We’ve made sure they received a good education and we’ve built Tebow Ranch into a successful enterprise.  After the loss of our parents, we never considered any other option; we worked hard, stuck together and made family a priority.”

Pushing her platinum blonde hair over her shoulder, the reporter couldn’t resist.  “When you played for Texas, they called you ‘The Stallion’.  Would you care to elaborate on how you acquired that particular nickname?”

Stretching his long muscular legs out in front of him, Joseph crossed one custom cowboy boot over the other.  “Well darlin’,” he graced her with a slow, seductive wink, “I’m not certain how I got HUNG with that handle, but I assure you that I’ve tried to live up to the image.”  He couldn’t help but chuckle when her gaze slid down his body and got slowed down by the speed bump of his erection.  Teasingly, he put his thumbs in his belt, one on either side of his signature Superman belt buckle – and caught her eyes as she looked back up, letting her know that he knew she was ogling his manly credentials.

She swallowed hard, but managed to find her words, “We know that you’ve set a free-fall speed record when you made that jump last month that was sponsored by Red Bull.”  He nodded, but she continued.  “You’ve also broken diving records for the longest cave passage when you proved those underwater springs near Tallahassee, Florida were linked.”

Joseph laughed, “That’s one experience that I don’t care to repeat.  We swam seven miles in six hours, then it took fourteen hours to decompress before we could surface.”

Carrie visibly shuddered at the thought. “You seem to live for the thrill, Mr. McCoy.  I understand that you also hold the record for free-climbing El Capitan in California.”

Getting antsy, Joseph sought a way to give the reporter what she needed for her article.  He needed to be on his way.  Maybe if he got her phone number, they could hook up after he finished the cross-country race. “Yea, I conquered ‘The Nose’ in ten hours; it was grueling.”  Getting to his feet, he joined her on the settee.  Automatically, she scooted closer to him.  At the flush on her cheeks, he knew her heart was racing.  Steeling himself against her charms, he asked, “Is there something you wanted to ask me about the GNCC Off-road race today?”

She licked her lips, and he wanted to help her moisten the plump rosebud.  Joseph could tell that her panties were damp; a whiff of her arousal was in the air.  With a shaking little voice, she managed to squeak out her question.  “This new course that you’ll be racing on today is supposed to be very dangerous.  Do you ever get afraid?”

Her question was so unexpected that he was stunned.  Joseph McCoy afraid?  With an arrogant snort, Joseph put that matter to rest.  “Honey, I’ve taken more chances than you can count.  Didn’t you know?”  At her puzzled look, Jacob spread his arms and proclaimed.  “Put this in your article, so everybody will understand – Daredevil Joseph McCoy is invincible!”

Tell us about your latest book.

My latest book is T-R-O-U-B-L-E.  It is a cowboy erotic romance – – actually, it’s about a Texas good ole’ boy who does his best to fight dragons for a woman that he falls for like a ton of bricks.  Ky is a Texas size hero – big of body and big of heart and hot as all-get-out, as they would say in Texas.  He has cattle, raises timber and has a twin who is a Texas Ranger.  What they don’t have – are serious girlfriends.  Ky longs for a woman to share his life with – and the only temptation he has had lately is the fantasy he has woven around a mysterious car that keeps going by his house really slow – anytime he is outside working without a shirt on.  Whoever it is – they are getting an eyeful.

Cooper, the heroine, has found a sanctuary in a small hunting cabin.  She has no one – and longs to be loved.  But her husband, who abused her, has ground it into her heart and mind that she is worthless, unlovable, disgusting and will never be able to please a man.  So, Cooper lives in her fantasies, which right now stars her good looking neighbor – Ky Landon.   Opportunity comes slithering in when Cooper drives by and notices a rattlesnake about to take a bite out of Ky’s very handsome backside.

And then it starts – – – sexual tension, midnight secrets, a madman – – and lots of trouble – trouble of the very best kind.

T-R-O-U-B-L-E was inspired by a situation in my life where I witnessed spousal abuse.  It is an ugly reality for some people.  For a woman to be hurt by the very one that she has placed her faith and trust in – is just tragic.  For women such as Cooper – the dream of finding a man who is gentle, loving – and sexy as hell – is something that they cling to.  To be loved is everyone’s hope, and no one deserves to have that love dashed beneath blows, kicks and other violent acts.  To celebrate the success of my novel – a percentage of all my sales will be given to a shelter for battered women in Austin called The SafePlace

Here’s the blurb –

Trouble comes calling on Kyler Landon. He falls hard and fast for his beautiful, mysterious neighbor after she saves him from a rattlesnake attack. The sexual tension mounts between them with each sensual encounter, but he soon realizes that Cooper has been hurt and is leery of men. So he sets out to teach her that a real man can be gentle, loving, and sexy as hell.

Trouble seems to follow Cooper, and Ky makes it his mission to protect her from her past. Kyler would move heaven and earth to keep her in his bed and in his life

And for Sable, you self-published a few books. Can you tell me which you like better? Self-publishing or writing for an electronic publisher? (I know a lot of Indie authors who really love it.)

I started out as an indie author.  I put nine books out on kindle and create space through amazon and I sold a lot of books and got a good base of readership.  I promoted, blogged, networked – advertised and did it all myself.  This process took me almost a year.  One of the most gratifying things; was that I found that most people in the romantic writers community treated me with respect – even though I wasn’t published, traditionally.  I was invited on loops and chats and had my books reviewed just like a traditional author – but I felt something was missing.  I wanted to know what it was like to be ‘published’.

One day I met another author on a loop and she read some of my excerpts.  She asked who my publisher was and I told her – the truth – I didn’t have one.  She said  “Your writing is very good – you’ll have a publisher by this time tomorrow.”  She got me in contact with Secret Cravings and they read my work and – miraculously – in eight hours, T-R-O-U-B-L-E was accepted for publication.  Since then – I have sold SCP four more and hope to continue doing business with them.  I still release books on kindle because I have a faithful readership there and they email me all the time wanting the next book to come out – so right now – I have the best of both worlds.

How can people find out more about you?  My website is sablehunter.com

And my email address is sablehunter@rocketmail.com  You can contact me either way and I answer each and every communication.  I also twitter @huntersable.

One thought on “CBLS Promotions — Interview with Sable Hunter

  1. wyndwhisper says:

    Hi Sable,
    I am sorry i haven’t been able to follow for the last couple of weeks, i have been sick with some kind of lung infection. i am a huge fan of the book TROUBLE. i have read it several times and each time i find something else that touches my heart. thank you so much for write about something that is so important and so often is ignored. i am really looking forward to reading the rest of the series and of course i can’t wait to read about the rest of the Hell Yeah boys. 🙂

    tammy r.

    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

