CBLS Promotion — Review of T. Lynne Tolles’ Bloodstone Heart

T. Lynne Tolles allowed me to review the third book in her Blood series, Bloodstone Heart. She’ll be giving away an ebook copy of the story to one lucky commenter.  I read an unedited version of her book for my review, but a final edited copy will be sent to the lucky winner.  So why not leave a comment? What do you have to lose?

Oh, before I forget the next stop on T. Lynne tour is at Obsession with Books tomorrow.

http://www.obsessionwithbooks.blogspot.com

Now here’s my review —

Josh Brenner is a good looking guy with an extraordinary talent he thinks is a curse – He’s telepathic and he can’t find the mute button, so he lives in solitude only coming out at night. But Josh isn’t the only supernatural out and about this cold March night, because when Josh returns from his midnight run to the store to avoid people, he runs smack into a hungry agitated vampire looking for something and Josh is in his way.

Horrified by what he’s seen and barely escaping with his life, he confides in a woman he barely knows, but has an instant connection with. When another vampire shows up looking for the first, Josh and his friend Lanie find themselves running for their lives and head to Oljone, California where a friend of Lanie’s from College has helped her with a supernatural problem in the past. 

But when they get to California with the vampire hot on their trail, they find Darby, Lanie’s college pal, has moved to Massachusetts in search of her vampire boyfriend Devon. Luckily Darby’s sister Rowan and Devon’s vampire brother, Blake, step in and help Josh and Lanie as best they can.

The four work together along with Dean (a werewolf) and his girlfriend Sally (a witch) to figure out this crazy mystery. What does this determined vampire want and why? And is he willing to kill for it? As this mystery unfolds, so do other darker mysteries. Will they figure things out in time before some is killed? You’ll just have to read it to see!

Josh and Lanie’s story was interesting almost from the beginning. The two of them fit together so well. And I also enjoyed getting the chance to meet the other characters in the series once again. Yet I think I liked best how the book ended, leaving many questions and unresolved issues. I can’t wait to read the next story in the series to see if my assumptions about the vampire called Dark Angel is right.

However, I did see a few problems in the story. (FYI, the review copy I read wasn’t the finished copy. T. Lynne is doing another edit on it.) For that reason, I won’t mentioned anything about punctuation, repeated words and clumsy sentences. Except to say the beginning part where Josh picked up the bloodstone heart and fought with the vampire was retold at least two times.  So was his meeting with the bad vampire. Hopefully her new edits will fix those types of rehashing scenes.

Now, saying that, I did notice a few things. The biggest problem to me was that the author moved away from the main story. There were scenes where neither Lanie or Josh were involved. The two also weren’t together for a long stretch of time. And the  fight between Josh and his friends with the group of bad vampires didn’t seem intense enough for me. It took longer for Blake to describe the tunnel system at Boldt Castle than the actual fight.

I truly like T. Lynne’s writing. It is smooth and easy to read, making it hard to put the book (Kindle) down. Bloodstone Heart is an intriguing story, that will be much better one if a few of the things I mentioned above are fixed in her final edits. (I’ll admit I was in editor mode when I read this book. I used to be one, and I hope to be one again someday.)

Reviewing a book before it’s final round of edits isn’t easy. I can only give this one 3 stars.

You can purchase this book at her website.

http://tlynnetolles.netfirms.com/books/bloodstone-heart-book.html

T. Lynne’s next stop on her tour is at Obsession with Books

http://www.obsessionwithbooks.blogspot.com

One thought on “CBLS Promotion — Review of T. Lynne Tolles’ Bloodstone Heart

  1. Good Morning Theresa,
    Thank you for hosting this stop on the tour. I look forward to meeting your bloggers. I appreciate you taking the time to read and review Bloodstone Heart. I also wanted to let you and your followers know that there is an “End of the Tour” Giveaway on my site for a Bloodstone Heart Crewneck Sweatshirt. All you have to do to enter is leave a comment with your email address.
    http://tlynnetolles.netfirms.com/blog/end-of-tour-giveaway-oct-16.html

Leave a Reply

