Bewitching Book Tour — Denise Grover Swank

I want to welcome Denise Grover Swank to my blog today. Check out her guest post and my review of her book.  She will be giving away an ebook copy of Chosen, the first book in The Chosen Series,  to one lucky commenter.

If you’d like to followed Denise’s virtual blog tour, just click here.

Now let’s hear what the author has to say about where  she writes.

I’m always fascinated with how authors write—where, what their rituals are, are they plotters or pantsers?  I firmly believe there’s no right or wrong way to the process, there’s merely what works for the writer.

I’m lucky to have an office now. I took my rarely used dining room and converted it to an office by placing my computer on my dining table, buying an office chair and calling it done. Although I took out most of the dining room chairs,  I placed two opposite from where I sit and called them my minion chairs.  They’re for my small children to sit in when they “visit” my office. (Code name for trash it) My kids will ask to sit in the minion chairs and I confess that my heart swells with a bit of smug happiness when they use the phrase.

But the fact is, I didn’t used to have an office. I set up a sofa table in various places in my house and tried to call it my desk, but let’s be honest. A sofa table is too tall to type comfortably and several of the locations were too remote from my children. I may have locked my bedroom door, but it didn’t take them long to figure out how to use that little metal pointy thing to stick in the doorknob hole.

So most of the time I moved from chair to chair in my house, carting my laptop with me and setting up shop. But no matter how effective my headphones were (see a previous guest blog post about the importance of headphones)  there were some days that I just couldn’t tune my kids out.

That’s when I discovered The Office.

No, not the TV show. My home away from home in the Happiest Place on Earth.

Starbucks.

Readers of my old family blog, There’s Always Room for One More, and my close (and not so close) friends know of my love for Starbucks. It’s infamous. I even wrote a blog post about it once, appropriately titled, Intervention. http://www.theresalwaysroomforonemore.com/2008/09/intervention.html So it seemed natural that when I needed to escape to write, I’d go to my home away from home.

Two days a week, I’d run off to Starbucks and sit in my table, in a little cubby on the other side of the pickup counter.  The employees began to look for me and ask about my progress in the book.  It was an awesome thing.

Until my older boys went and ruined it for me.

They would joke that writers only go to Starbucks only to be seen and look important. They’d plaster on cheesy smiles and swing their heads from side to side, tapping with their index fingers on the table top and say “Look at me! I’m a writer! I’m special!” (It was a full year later before I realized that they got this from The Family Guy.)

“I don’t do that!” I protested. “I go there to actually write.”

“Yeah, we know.” Then they’d laugh.

But the next time I went back to The Office I sat back even farther in my corner.  Which actually wasn’t a bad thing since it probably saved me even more embarrassment than I’m used to. I’ve been known to make strange facial expressions as I try to show (and not tell) that someone was hurt, mad, scared, etc. So I’d sit in my corner, my face contorting in slow motion as I made note of what parts of my face did what.

Yeah, those boys did me a favor.

Nevertheless, I have fond memories of the Starbucks in Independence, Missouri on 39th Street. A good chunk of Chosen was written there.

And the nonfat, no whip Mocha’s aren’t bad either.

A Review of Chosen

Everything Emma Thompson owns fits in a suitcase she moves from one roach infested motel to another. She and Jake, her five year old son who can see the future, are running from the men intent on taking him. Emma will do anything to protect him even when it means accepting the help of a stranger named Will. Jake insists she needs Will, but Emma’s never needed help before. And even though she’s learned to trust her son, it doesn’t mean she trusts Will.

Mercenary Will Davenport lives in the moment. Hauling Emma to South Dakota should have been an easy job, but his employer neglected to tell him about Emma’s freaky son and the gunmen hot on her trail. Instinct tells him this job is trouble, but nothing can prepare him for Jake’s proclamation that Will is The Chosen One, who must protect Emma from the men hunting her power. A power she doesn’t know she has.

Will protects Emma and Jake on a cross-country chase from the men pursuing them, while struggling with memories from his past, his apprehension of Jake, and his growing attraction to Emma. Will’s overwhelming urge to protect Emma surprises him, especially since it has nothing to do with his paycheck and possibly everything to do with the tattoo Jake branded on his arm. Rich and powerful men are desperate to capture Emma, and Will must discover why before it’s too late.

Chosen was winner of The Beacon– 2010 Unpublished Division, Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal category.

Book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q87iopmDWTY

What a wonderful book. Chosen keep me up most of last night because I couldn’t put it down.

The one thing that I found a bit wrong was some of the action/reactions of the main characters, Emma and Will. Emma has been keeping her son safe for three years now, running from the ‘bad men’, yet when the car explodes and the two of them think Jake is dead she totally loses it and puts both of them in danger. I thought she should’ve held it together until they were out of danger. And the mercenary Will seems to forget everything when Emma gets shot. He blames himself and tells her he’s sorry many, many times. Once would’ve been enough. There were a few other places where both of the main characters emotions swung back and forth quickly, from getting along well together to anger. (This mostly happened in the beginning part of the book.)

Yet one thing I noticed at the end of the book is Emma’s still not trusting this man. After all that they’d survived together, she shouldn’t still wonder if she could trust him or not. JMHO

Other than those few things, I truly enjoyed reading this book.

I give it a 4 rating.

If you enough fast-paced, exciting paranormal thrillers, you couldn’t go wrong with Chosen. The second book in The Chosen Series, Hunted, is out in November, and I can’t wait to read it.

One thought on “Bewitching Book Tour — Denise Grover Swank

Leave a Reply

