CBLS Promotions — Avery Flynn

I want to welcome Avery Flynn to my blog today as part of her CBLS Promotions tour.
Check out the next stop of her tour at Lindsay’s Scribblings at
Avery answered a few questions from me. She also has a nice blog entitled Sex, Sex and More Sex. (I know that would get you attention.
Now lets find out more about Avery —
What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

When I was in first grade, my father gave me a baby blue Brother typewriter. I use to write gibberish stories about all my stuffed animals. We lived in a tiny apartment at the time and my mom gave me my first writing cave – the utility closet which housed the hot water heater, a card table and my typewriter. The only caveats being to never touch the water heater and to always leave the door open. What keeps me at the computer? The fact that I love doing this. Plus the characters yell at me if I don’t. 🙂

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

My husband is very supportive as are my mother and sister. That said, I’m still hiding behind my Avery Flynn pen name much of the time. I just love the anonymity of it and the freedom it gives me to write whatever I want.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

Well I have to have coffee, but that’s more of a life requirement rather than a writing one. Really, all I need to write is my computer and time.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

To paraphrase Dora from Finding Nemo: Just keep writing.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

The biggest challenge was taking myself seriously as a writer and admitting to my friends and family that I was writing a book. There’s always that nugget of doubt that can keep you from believing in yourself and following your dream. I say smash that nugget into a billion pieces and go for it.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

Up a Dry Creek has gotten overwhelmingly positive reviews so I’ve been really lucky. I don’t have a favorite reader comment. I guess it’s like trying to pick your favorite child – you love them all!

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I’m about to submit A Dry Creek Bed, the second in the Dry Creek series, to my publisher. It’s a great story and I can’t wait to share it with the world. Here’s a sneak peek:

A wicked grin curled Hank Layton’s lips when he stepped down from his truck and Beth’s insides melted into warm goo. Damn that man.

Five days into a two-week vacation, he’d given up his Dry Creek Country Sheriff uniform for jeans, a T-shirt and a scraggly beard that he somehow made appealing. Her fingers itched to feel the prickle of the three-day beard on his square jaw, to run through his thick brown hair that she knew from years of lustful observation curled if he let it grow to his collar. He was the stuff of dreams. Naughty, sweaty, tasty dreams.

And that was all they’d ever be. Hot as he was, Hank remained off limits for as many reasons as there were days in the year.

Tell us about your latest book.

Up a Dry Creek is the first book in the Dry Creek series. It centers around Claire Layton, a murder mystery and the mind-numbingly hot Jake Warrick. It’s a fun, fast-paced romantic suspense with tons of heat. Here’s an early exchange between Claire and Jake:

Claire flashed him an insincere smile and batted her eyelashes, hoping he wouldn’t notice how her nipples had hardened. As if she’d said the words out loud, his gaze locked in on that exact part of her anatomy. Damn. They actually got harder.

She crossed her arms in front of her breasts. “Oh, I think once was enough. You know us country girls just aren’t used to your big city ways.”

“I could teach you about all things big.” His wicked grin promised she’d learn a lot.

Electricity sparked between them, sank into her skin and settled low in her belly. “I’m sure you’d like to, but I’m not looking for a teacher.”

That silenced him. He dragged his gaze from her toes to her eyes in slow motion. His hot perusal burned her skin as it traveled up her body, lingering on her breasts before stopping at her lips. A wolfish leer lit his face.

“I’m more than willing to be a student, if that’s what you’d prefer,” his voice rumbled.

How can people find out more about you?

www.averyflynn.com

avery@averyflynn.com

Twitter: @averyflynn

Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Avery-Flynn/177161972329973

Thanks so much for having me.

And here’s the blog I promised earlier.

Sex, Sex and More Sex

I love Tina Fey.

(I know, probably not the first words you expect when reading a blog titled Sex, Sex and More Sex, but I swear it fits in.)

In her movie Date Night there is a scene at the beginning when she comes to bed wearing a ratty old T-shirt and her retainer. Her husband (the adorable Steve Carell) looks at her and says, “I guess were not having sex tonight.” This leads to a discussion of whether they can rally, i.e. change their mindset and get up the energy for sex.

This scene made me laugh out loud. Not because it’s a situation my characters Claire Layton and Jake Warrick encounter in Up a Dry Creek. No way. Those two are so attracted to each other they have to practically sit on their hands not to touch each other. However, as the chronicler of their story, I had to rally a time or two to get in the mood to write hot sex scenes. Face it, even we writers get headaches.

So what do I do to rally? How do I get in the mood to write a sex scene?

  1.  Music. I break out the old school Prince. Slow Love is at the top of my list for great songs to write sex to, along with Adore, Soft and Wet and When You Were Mine. Some sample lyrics from Slow Love, “U can see through race car drivers / Let me show U what I’m made of / Tonight is the night 4 making slow love.” The man cannot spell to save his life, but oh can he write a damn good rally song.
  2. No Distractions. Most of the time my house is a zoo with animals, children and a husband wandering through my office (I swear one of these days I’m putting in a door.). This is not conducive to writing a love scene. So I save them for mid-afternoon when everyone has wondered away or late at night when they’re all sacked out.
  3. Motivation. Not my motivation, the characters. In Up a Dry Creek, Claire and Jake are attracted to each other from the get-go, but when they finally make love it’s not just about sex. It’s about that connection they have forged with each other that is expressed through what their bodies do together. Like in real life, plain sex is good but emotionally-charged sex is amazing.

A glass of wine and a back rub sure help too, but those are my top three requirements for writing a sex scene. I’m tempted to say a visit from Mark Wahlberg (who plays the hot security expert in Date Night) would help, but I can’t imagine I’d have any energy left over to type. 🙂

Up a Dry Creek is another book to be placed on my TBB list.

Here are the Buy Links

Evernight Publishing:

http://www.evernightpublishing.com/products/Up-a-Dry-Creek-by-Avery-Flynn.html

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Up-Dry-Creek-ebook/dp/B0055UZ9UG

B&N:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/up-a-dry-creek-avery-flynn/1103948714

Smashwords:

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/66844

Don’t forget to stop at Avery’s next stop at Lindsay’s Scribblings tomorrow.

http://Ichbineinteufel.blogspot.com 

One thought on “CBLS Promotions — Avery Flynn

Leave a Reply

