Bewitching Book Tour — Richard Brown

Indie author Richard Brown is visiting my blog today. He’s doing a virtual book tour for The Gift of Illusion with Bewitching Book Tours.

You can follow his tour here.

Find out more about Richard —

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

When I first started writing, I wrote poetry almost exclusively. I really wanted to be a songwriter but I didn’t have much musical talent. Every now and then I would write a short story, one in particular called The Eyes of an Angel was pretty good. Or I thought it was back then. It was a long short story at around fifteen thousand words, and it gave me the courage to try something bigger. The Gift of Illusion was the result.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?
My family supports me, they think I am a good writer, and they think I should keep at it.   Now whether they think I can make a living doing it is another thing.  It’s not a very stable career move, so I can understand the concern, but it only motivates me more.
What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?
I write about some pretty evil people doing evil things, so I’ve found that to make my writing more honest I need to be as evil in my daily life as possible.  Before I sit down and write, I spend a good hour or so driving around in my car looking for animals to run over.  When I get a good one I bring it back to the house and skin it, drink the blood, and watch paternity results on the Maury show.  Okay, I really don’t do any of that.  Sad to say I don’t have any interesting writing habits yet.
What advice would you give to a new writer? 
My advice would be to quit listening to advice and go write.  I know I spent way more time than I should over the years learning about writing than actually writing.  I read success stories and dreamed that I would one day be in their shoes, while doing very little to make it happen.  There really is no substitute for hard work.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far? 

Sitting down in the chair and writing.  Everything else, publishing, marketing, etc, are all second to just writing.  Having a strict schedule is the best way to get results.  Even if the muse doesn’t feel like coming, you sit in the chair and do it without him.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you? 
Sure.  A lot of readers compliment me on my writing.  I won’t name names, for the protection of the innocent, but the general reaction has been positive.
What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste? 
I am working on a new novel about a woman who is given a second chance to have a child she lost during labor.  Hopefully, I will be able to get a sample up on my website http://www.richardbrownbooks.com soon.
Tell us about your latest book.  
It’s primarily a detective story, just with a paranormal villain.  If you like thrillers, horror, or mysteries, then give it a shot. The book starts fast and never lets up.  The entire story takes place over a few days.  There are virtually no subplots.  The cast of characters is relatively small.  I tried not to waste too many words, and I hate flat, quick resolutions.  I also left the book open for future stories, but not so open that the reader will feel cheated of a proper end.  The climax is almost a third of the book. 
How can people find out more about you? 
www.richardbrownbooks.com or they can go to my Facebook page Richard Brown Books and become a fan. I love hearing from readers.

Blurb about The Gift of Illusion —

Something wicked has returned to Elmwood, and it longs to continue the study it began over a century ago. It’s looking for volunteers, but few seem worthy of the gift. Isaac Winters might be the one. He’s a detective with a damaged past, and something to prove. Still haunted by his wife’s murder sixteen years earlier, Isaac has thought more and more about turning in his badge. Over the years, he’s seen the worst mankind has to offer. Until now. A strange fire has consumed the life of a young girl. But she won’t be the last. There are no witnesses and no evidence except a small stone figurine, a gateway to the past. Accompanied by a partner with questionable experience, Isaac must discover and defeat this faceless villain before it takes from him the greatest reminder of his dead wife. Their daughter.

Paperback: 258 pages

Publisher: CreateSpace (May 16, 2011)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1461147328

ISBN-13: 978-1461147329

Buy Links:

http://www.amazon.com/Gift-Illusion-Thriller-ebook/dp/B0050ZOS0S/ref=pd_rhf_p_t_1

http://www.amazon.com/Gift-Illusion-Thriller-Richard-Brown/dp/1461147328/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1308517354&sr=1-2

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gift-of-illusion-richard-brown/1102476195?ean=2940011324789&itm=1&usri=the%2bgift%2bof%2billusion

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/59904

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4948768.Richard_Brown

About the Author:

Richard is not a vampire, yet.

While he awaits immortality, Richard spends much of his time banging his head on the keyboard trying to make sentences out of words.

Since the age of ten, he’s written dozens of short stories, over a hundred poems, and two novels, the first — The Gift of Illusion — was released May, 17 2011.

He also enjoys spending time with his daughter, girlfriend, three dogs, watching mixed martial arts, singing karaoke, debating politics, and of course dressing up for photo shoots with a guitar he never really learned to play (ahem).

www.richardbrownbooks.com

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Richard-Brown-Books/219461381398669

Leave a Reply

