Bewitching Book Tours — Sonya Clark

I’ve got Sonya Clark on my blog today as part of her Bewitching Book Tour.  She’s been gracious enough to answer a few questions for me.  You can follow her tour at Bewitching Book Tours.

She’s has a great giveaway going on.

Giveaway Details:
Winners will be chosen from all of those who enter via the form,

leave comments at tour stops for bonus entries

you can also enter at each tour stop
 
10 winners will receive signed book plates
2 winners will receive free ebook copies of Mojo Queen
1 grand prize winner will receive the Mojo Prize Pack, which includes:
.         Signed book plate
·         Mojo Queen playlist CD
·         A voodoo doll
·         A protective mojo hand
·         Spirit of Good Luck incense
·         A seven day spell candle
·         A bag of graveyard dirt
The winners will be announced on Sonya’s blog on Friday, August 19.
Physical prizes open to US Shipping Only Please.
Ebooks international.
Sounds like fun.
Here’s Sonya —
What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

The oldest fiction I have saved is from the second grade. I always told stories, one way or another. It was during the eighth grade that I started to think seriously about being a writer. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I finally wrote my first full length novel, which was of course terrible. So I wrote something else, and I haven’t stopped writing since.

Everyone has something that they love to do, that they’re good at but want to get better at. You keep working at it because you want to be as good as you can at it, but also because it’s just who you are. I’m a writer, so I write. That’s really all there is to it.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

My husband has always been tremendously supportive of my writing. However, I would write whether I had anyone’s support or not. It’s a bit like asking if people support me being five feet tall. Whether they like it or not, I’m still going to be short and I’m still going to be a writer. 😉

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

Before I start a new story I have a ritual where I run naked through the fields under the light of a full moon and ask for the blessings of the spirit of Bigfoot. Okay, not really. I’m pretty boring. I’m not aware of any interesting quirks or strange habits.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

In his book On Writing Stephen King says the great commandment is to read a lot and write a lot. I think sometimes people forget the first half of that and don’t read as much or as widely as they should. You should definitely know your genre but you need to read outside your genre too. Even read bad books sometimes, so that you can learn to spot what doesn’t work and why it doesn’t work. That’s just as important as learning about what does work.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

Promotion and social networking are a challenge, especially Twitter. I really don’t like Twitter because it seems like a bunch of random people yelling out into the ether. Trying to have a conversation there gives me a headache. So I’m not very good at it but I try. Facebook seems to bring out the worst in people for some reason. I have high hopes for Google Plus. Personally I’d rather just blog but I understand that authors have to do more than just one thing now.

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I’m working on a follow-up to Mojo Queen. Roxie finds herself dealing with the aftermath of a catastrophic flood that influences both the mortal and spirit planes.

I’m also writing a free paranormal web serial called The Bradbury Institute. It’s about an organization that studies the occult. It’s fun to play around in something where I don’t feel any pressure about submitting it or following various rules.

Tell us about your latest book.

Mojo Queen is about paranormal investigator Roxanne Mathis dealing with a case of demonic possession. She’s much more used to evicting ghosts so this is a tough case for her. It doesn’t help that she finds herself increasingly attracted to the sexy sorcerer who helped bring that demon across to this plane of existence. She’s going to have to use everything at her disposal – her ability to see auras and spectral energy, her affinity for hoodoo root work, and her vampire ancestor – to defeat this demon.

And just for Sonya, according to your website you’re an Army Brat, has any of the places you seen during those years given you inspiration in your books? If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you like to go? And why?

I’ve never used any of those places as a setting until recently. My last two and half years of high school we lived in Frankfurt, Germany. I’m using Frankfurt as a setting in part of my web serial The Bradbury Institute. It’s fun to be doing that and it’s made me a little nostalgic.

I’ve seen some beautiful pictures of Hong Kong and Shanghai that made me think – this is what the future looks like. I’d love to see a city like that.

How can people find out more about you?

My home base on the web is at www.sonyaclark.net. That’s where people can find my blog, information and links for my books, links to find me on social networks, and all the usual.

And here’s a blurb of Mojo Queen –

Hoodoo and high magic are on a collision course.

Roxanne Mathis isn’t like everyone else. Not only can she see auras and spectral entities, she can mix herbs and roots for spells to do good or ill. She can even light a candle without the benefit of a match. But when she’s hired to exorcise a demon from a young girl, she discovers the limits of her powers. 

With her vampire cousin at her side and a sexy sorcerer chasing her on the rebound, Roxie sets out to send that evil entity back to where she came from. 

Nothing is as it seems and Roxie’s in over her head. It’s not going to be enough for her to just be a paranormal investigator and old school root worker – to defeat this demon, she’s going to have to be the Mojo Queen.

Buy Links

Direct from Lyrical Press:

http://www.lyricalpress.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=81&products_id=328

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Mojo-Queen-ebook/dp/B004YXF0M2/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1304399499&sr=1-3

Barnes and Noble:

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Mojo-Queen/Sonya-Clark/e/9781616502713/?itm=1&USRI=mojo+queen

Fictionwise:

http://www.fictionwise.com/ebooks/b123217/Mojo-Queen/Sonya-Clark/?si=0

And here’s an excerpt —

I sat in the chair opposite the loveseat, placing the candles on the coffee table. Glanced at him to make sure I still had his attention, which of course I did. One side of his mouth still curled up in a smirk, eyebrow quirked. I sat back, let myself sink into the comfy chair and relax as much as possible. First the candle on the left. Focusing on the wick, I visualized a tiny flame erupting from it–concentrating my will, pouring energy into my intention. I could feel myself sliding further into exhaustion as energy curled inside me, but after a long, agonizing moment the candle came to life. I let out a breath before I could stop myself, avoiding his gaze. I didn’t want him to know how much this was taking out of me, but I had a bad feeling it was obvious. I turned my attention to the other candle and though it took even longer this time, it too lit. I felt almost as bad as I had this afternoon.

Blake reached for a backpack on the floor I had not seen in the darkness. He opened it, fished something out, and tossed it to me. I didn’t so much catch it as let it fall in my lap. A chocolate candy bar.

It was my turn to quirk an eyebrow. Waving the bar at him I said, “What, is this to ward off dementors?”

The smirk became a genuine smile again briefly. “Something like that. You need to eat.”

I gave him a skeptical look.

“You know you’re using energy with that.” He gestured at the candles. “The energy needs to be replenished.”

I rolled my eyes but tore open the wrapper. The chocolate tasted, well, damn, like mainlining something illegal. Maybe he had a point. I was halfway through the bar when he spoke again, as if there had been no pause.

“Especially since you don’t really know what you’re doing yet.” Even in the low candlelight I had no trouble seeing the wicked amusement in his dark eyes.

I managed to finish chewing without choking, tossed the remainder of the candy bar on the coffee table and sat up straighter. “Why don’t you tell me why you’re here? Or better yet, tell me where I can find your demon lover? So I can send her back to Hell.”

“Well, actually, that’s exactly why I’m here, Roxanne.” Like we were discussing insurance or something. “I want you to find my demon lover.”

Gob-smacked, all I could manage was, “Huh?”

“And I want you to send her back to Hell.”

Author Bio:

Sonya Clark grew up an Army brat, living all across the United States as well as Japan and Germany by the time she graduated high school. Books were one of the few constants in her life. An eclectic reader, she always had a special love for the paranormal and is a lifelong fangirl of all things that go bump in the night.

A deep love of music is another constant thread in all of her fiction. She writes at a desk equipped with High John the Conqueror root and a mojo hand. She has worshipped at the mother church of country music, traveled the back roads of the blues highway, been to the crossroads at midnight, and though she’s never cooked up a mess of polk salad, she has been to Graceland four times.

She lives with her husband and Yorkie in Tennessee.

Author Links:

Blog/website: http://www.sonyaclark.net/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/sonyabclark

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorsonyaclark

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3510861.Sonya_Clark

6 thoughts on “Bewitching Book Tours — Sonya Clark

Leave a Reply

