Goddess Fish Promotions VBT — Lynn Reynolds

I’d like to welcome Lynn Reynolds to my blog today. She was gracious enough to answers a few questions for me.  I’m just one stop in her virtual blog tour with Goddess Fish Promotions. If you’d like to follow her full tour,  click on the link here.

And, if you’re lucky, you may win a prize. One lucky commenter will win a $15.00 gift card from Amazon and a copy of Colbie Caillat’s CD Coco, featuring the songs “Capri” and “Bubbly.” So don’t forget to comment on all the blogs.

Now, here’s Lynn —

What first got you interested in writing? What has kept you doing it?

I’ve been making up stories since I was a little girl. Except then it was called lying. Once I figured out I could write the stories down on paper and someone would call it a career, there was no stopping me!

Seriously, though, I’ve just always loved reading and writing, the two main requirements for being a writer. Writing things down is just a compulsive behavior for me. I’ve always kept a journal and over the years I’ve written lots of fiction and even poetry. I’ve been a journalist and publicist for years, great careers if you love to write. (Not so great careers in a weak economy, but that’s a blog for another day!)

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published?

My family has always been really supportive. My mom was my biggest fan and always encouraged me to pursue my dreams as a writer. My hubby is a treasure – he thinks it’s very cool that his wife is a writer and always tries to help me find time to write. My son is a teenager. If it doesn’t involve exploding robots or magical orphans, he couldn’t care less who wrote it. Sadly, a couple of years ago he suggested I write a book about a space alien crash landing in the Old West – and I didn’t listen.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? Strangest habit? Is there anything you have to do before you start writing?

I write most first drafts long hand. I just like to physically write things down. And I have to have Dixon Ticonderoga #2 Pencils. I always sharpen up about a half-dozen right before getting to work. In fact, some days when I’m not feeling very inspired, sharpening those pencils is about the only thing that makes me feel like I’m still a writer.

What advice would you give to a new writer?

Finish the book. No one publishes first chapters. So stop polishing that first chapter and move forward.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far?

To be brutally honest – realizing I’m probably never going to make a living writing fiction. Newspaper jobs are going away and a few years ago, I thought, I know, I’ll write a novel and I’ll probably make enough money to pay the kid’s private school tuition! Those of you who do write fiction and aren’t Stephanie Meyer are laughing so hard now you are crying. Stop it.

But that was a big challenge – why keep writing the stories if I’m not going to make much money doing it? The answer is in your first question – I write them because it’s a compulsion. I think that’s the only really good reason to write fiction – because you just can’t stop.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?

I had lots of positive feedback for my first book, Thirty-Nine Again. It’s a romantic suspense novel and I got lots of compliments on some of the unexpected plot twists. Also, I used some settings near my own hometown in that book, and I heard from readers who told me they could pinpoint exactly where I was talking about. That made me feel great, since it meant I’d done a good job describing the setting.

What are you working on now? Could you give us a little taste?

I’m working on something in a totally new direction, a series of historical mysteries set in Restoration England. Because you know, there is such a HUGE market for Restoration murder mysteries – LOL! But the story is in its very rough stages, so I don’t really have any samples.

I’m also seriously considering consulting my son on what my next book should be. This time I think I’d pay more attention.

I do have a spooky short story involving a haunted elevator that I’m hoping to get released in time for Halloween. It’s called “Going Down.”

Tell us about Love, Capri Style.

Love, Capri Style is a sexy, sun-drenched romance set on the island of Capri.  I tried to write it with a lot of humor and a lot of vivid detail so that my readers can feel like they’re right there in Capri. Lots of scenery, lots of lusciously Italian foods and lots and lots of limoncello, which leads to some very naughty goings on.

Here’s the blurb for the book:

Amanda Jackson took the job with Fame magazine to get closer to her estranged father, billionaire publisher Peter Tate. Instead of welcoming her, Dad sends her out of the country, to cover a music festival on the magnificent isle of Capri. There Amanda finds herself up close and personal with her dad’s leading competitor – dashing British playboy Eric Greyford. Can she get an exclusive on Eric’s hectic love life, or will she wind up as just another item on the gossip pages of his newspaper?

Forced to take over management of his family’s publishing business after his brother’s death, Eric Greyford needed a diversion. Now he’s found one in the beautiful blonde reporter he discovers in his hotel room. But is the girl a bumbling junior member of the paparazzi or a corporate spy sent to get the scoop on his company’s daring new business plan?

How can people find out more about you?

Visit my website at www.lynnreynolds.com. It has excerpts, trailers, reviews and all the news about my books. You can also link to my blog from there or sign up for my quarterly newsletter. I hold contests and announce other events at the newsletter. I also occasionally blog at www.thepopculturedivas.com. And of course, you can find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/authorlynnreynolds.

And just for Lynn, have you ever been to Italy? If you didn’t have to worry about money, where would you like to visit?

I’ve actually never been to Italy. I wouldn’t mind going, and I have always wanted especially to see Capri. But honestly, I did so much research on the place in writing Love, Capri Style, I almost feel like I’ve already been there. The place I’d most like to visit is Spain, especially Granada. I’d love to see the Alhambra!

 Enjoy this excerpt from Love, Capri Style

Eric drew himself to his full height and flipped off his sunglasses. “I’m sorry if we both took the moment too seriously last night, Amanda. The sex was incredible, but that’s all it was. Finding out who you are is a reminder of why this should end when we both leave Capri.”

Her mouth fell open. He longed to stop it with a million kisses, but he remained rooted to his little corner of the terrace. If he moved any closer, he might smell that soapy lavender scent and he’d be undone by her again.

Amanda advanced on him.

“The best I’ve ever had, you said to me.” She pointed a finger at his chest. “Now who was lying to whom?”

“I wasn’t lying, I –”

She tilted her head up in angry triumph. “No. I may not be as worldly as you are, but I know you weren’t lying then. You’re lying now. I’ll tell you what your problem is, shall I?”

He poked his tongue in his cheek and glared down at her. “Oh, please do.”

“You’re afraid again. You’re afraid of what you feel when you look at me. It might mess up the brilliant new life you have planned. Loving me might take time away from building Greyford Publishing into a media empire to rival my father’s. Loving me might require you to occasionally put that business on the back burner. Loving me might mean you’d have to be loyal to one woman for the rest of your life, and gosh, wouldn’t that be boring?”

No. He almost said it out loud. No, it wouldn’t be boring, if that one woman were you.

A bit about Lynn —

I’m a writer, a wife and a mom – although not necessarily in that order. I’m a city girl trapped in Green Acres.

In my other life as a journalist, my feature articles have appeared in major daily and weekly newspapers. Remember those? My short stories and poetry have been published in a few obscure literary mags that you’ve never heard of. At various times in my life, I’ve also been a child model, an actress, a stagehand, a secretary, a seller of ladies’ lingerie and – in a brief fit of practicality, a computer programmer. My secret ambition is to be a wench at the Renaissance Faire.

I write romances because I truly do believe in Happily Ever After.

Visit my website at http://www.lynnreynolds.com

I’m on Facebook way too much of the time. Friend me there at https://www.facebook.com/authorlynnreynolds

I don’t blog often, but I am a regular contributor to the PopCultureDivas blog at http://www.thepopculturedivas.com/

My own blog can be found at http://lynnreynolds.blogspot.com/

14 thoughts on “Goddess Fish Promotions VBT — Lynn Reynolds

  1. Robin Haseltine says:

    A great interview. I Love learning about the authors I love reading. I had no idea you write your first draft longhand! I can’t imagine writing anything longhand, anymore. I enjoyed Capris — great characters and a fun story — and think everyone should get a copy.

  2. Tess says:

    I love Lynn’s books…she has a talent for making a reader fall in love with her characters!!!!! Great interview!

  3. Lynn Reynolds says:

    Thanks, ladies, I can always use an ego boost. Robin – I have to admit, I do less writing by hand than I used to do, but it’s still my preferred method!

  4. Maria D. says:

    Fantastic post! I loved the excerpt! Amanda sounds like a great character. Lol about listening to your son’s writing advice – who knew what he thought of would be made into a movie…

    junegirl63(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Rita in Parkton says:

    I’ve been reading Lynn’s stuff for about 30 years now. (I’m an old friend.) And I love the way she mixes fantasy with reality and intrigue. And I also like writing by hand, too many distractions when writing on the computer — you never know when some one interesting is going to do a great blog that you just HAVE to read!

    Keep going girl.

    Rita.

  6. Ann Whitaker says:

    Love, Capri Style is a witty, entertaining read. Here’s hoping Ms Reynolds will never stop writing and will always have plenty of pencils. She’s much too talented to quit.

  7. JeanP says:

    Enjoyed the interview. Yes you must have somewhat kicked yourself for not listening to your son. Will be watching for your historical mystery when it comes out.

  8. Chelsea B. says:

    Great interview! I’m looking forward to reading Love, Capri Style!

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  9. Lynn Reynolds says:

    Thanks for stopping by, one and all. Rita – glad you too like writing by hand. People seem to be astounded when I say that – it’s like I just said I like to wrestle mastodons and saber-toothed tigers!

Leave a Reply

