Goddess Fish Promotions VBT — Tory Richards

I’d like to welcome Tory Richards to my blog today. She going to be visiting different blogs to promote her new book, The Promise. Tory was gracious enough to answer a few questions for me as one stop on her virtual blog tour with Goddess Fish Promotions.  Find out more about her tour by clicking on the link here.

If you leave a comment on this (or any of the blogs on her tour),  you will have a chance to win a $15.00 gift card from Bath & Body. The more comments you make,  the more chances you have to win.

Now,  here’s Tory —

What first got you interested in writing? The fairy tales I enjoyed as a kid. Cinderella was and is my all time favorite.

What has kept you doing it? Writing is in my blood, it’s my passion and a hobby I love doing…for me.

Do you have the support of your family and friends? Definitely! They’re the ones who pushed me to try and get published.

Has that support always been there, or has it changed since being published? Well, my parents didn’t really support me. When I told them, at the age of 13, that I wanted to be a writer they laughed at me. Do you know how crushing that can be? After that I became a closet writer and kept it a secret. It wasn’t until I was an adult and my niece and daughter found out about my hobby, that I received the support and encouragement I needed.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? I have to be sitting in my old 1940s rocker recliner to get any serious writing done.

Is there anything you have to do before you start writing? Not really. As long as I’m in my quiet place, in my chair, a drink at my side, I’m ready.

What advice would you give to a new writer? Never give up! Believe in yourself, and someone else will, too. Even when you get those rejection slips, and you will, learn from them and go on.

What has been the biggest challenge of your career so far? Finding the discipline I need to set a schedule for writing. Most authors have a system in place but I can’t seem to come up with one that I’ll keep. The reason behind that is I write when I’m in the mood.

Has a reader ever complimented you on your writing? Oh gosh, all the time! I love hearing from readers. And I have a few of their comments on the review page on my Tory Richards website.

What was the best thing you ever heard, and who told it to you?  One of my readers, Anna, wrote me after she read It’s All in the Jeans. This is what she had to say. I absolutely loved It’s All in the Jeans… laughing it up every time Libby had on her “Ruby” costume! The things we’re willing to do for the ones we love eh…Overall, such a sweet and sexy read! Great job as always Tory! YOU ROCK!!! Girl, the sex scenes were steamin’ & scorchin’ & sizzlin’…and I’m pretty sure there was steam fogging up my macbook screen

What are you working on now? I’m trying to finish up a short, erotic romance where a plus size model is the heroine. Could you give us a little taste? Here’s a short excerpt.

Beau narrowed his gaze to take a closer look at the woman causing so much fuss. It only took him a second to recognize that she was the very woman he was hired to protect. Her agent had faxed him a picture that didn’t do her justice.

She’s a plus size model?

Beau’s interest peaked. There was no doubt Marissa Lambert had a full figure. Only it wasn’t what Beau would ever consider plump, fat, voluptuous or anything else he could think of at the moment. His idea of plus size was his aunt Grace. Everything about her was round, soft, and slightly hanging in places it shouldn’t be.

There was nothing lumpy, bumpy or came close to resembling cottage cheese about Miss Lambert. He figured she was about the same size as his sister, a fourteen maybe sixteen tops. Wasn’t Marilyn Monroe a size fourteen? And there’d been nothing wrong about her. Beau’s gaze remained riveted on the lovely model, as she strutted with a haughty assurance, and amazing grace, down the narrow runway.

She was wearing something a woman might slip into after her date brought her home, something more comfortable and, ah, inspiring. The black silk chiffon shirt with long sleeves wasn’t meant to conceal, but showcase the alabaster curves beneath. The elegant garment fell to her smooth thighs, and had been left unbuttoned so that it flowed out behind her as she moved. Beneath it a strapless jacquard corset of black and red shaped her full breasts and hips, and outlined the curve of her waist.

Wow. Beau felt a definite stirring below the belt almost immediately. He liked a woman with curves.

Tell us about your The Promise. The premise of the The Promise is a story where a young widow is facing her first holiday season without her husband, and a Marine who returns home for the first time in years to keep a promise he made to his dying brother. And that is to take care of his wife and baby. The Marine has been secretly in love with his brother’s wife for years, and guilt over that makes him reluctant to keep his promise. When the two come together at the farm the attraction between them blossoms rapidly, forcing them to make a decision about themselves and their future.

How can people find out more about you?

If they have questions they can email me at: tory.richards@yahoo.com , leave a comment on my blog at: http://www.debbiewallace.blogspot.com/ or visit my website at: www.toryrichards.com to find out more about my books.

And just for Tory, two of my favorite heroes are soldiers and cowboys. What made you decide to make your hero a soldier? Have you ever been in the military? No, though I’ve had family members who have. I like men in uniform. There’s something powerful and sexy about them. And they make you feel safe. I’d chosen a Marine for this story because I’d already written a romance where my hero was a: fire fighter, mercenary, detective, cowboy, bodyguard and small town sheriff.

A blurb of The Promise

Shannon Hayes’ husband David was killed in Iraq nearly a year ago, and now she must face her first holiday season without him. With a toddler in tow, she travels to the Vermont farm where the rest of the family has gathered for the holidays. There she comes face to face with the man who was with him when he died, and her destiny, his older brother Ryan.

For the first time in years, Ryan returns home to keep a promise he made to David— to take care of Shannon and their daughter. It’s a pledge Ryan is reluctant to keep because he’s been secretly in love with Shannon since first setting eyes on her. Their attraction to each other is instant, intense and soon the promise isn’t the only thing between them.

Excerpt  from The Promise

“Ryan!” If he heard her, he ignored her, and continued walking toward the garage. “Ryan!” Shannon picked up her robe and dashed down the steps and into the snow. The cold immediately went through her slippers. “Ryan, please wait!”

He rounded the garage and disappeared. Shannon couldn’t believe that he didn’t hear her. She rushed to catch up with him, almost falling when she stepped on an icy patch of snow. She entered the garage just as he opened the door to his jeep. “Ryan!”

He stiffened but didn’t turn around as she expected. Shivering, Shannon stepped in front of him, putting herself between him and the open door. She didn’t know what she was going to do; only that she had to stop him in some way. “What are you doing?” she asked, flinching from the unwelcome coldness in his eyes. It was just getting light enough for her to see his expression, hard and set as usual.

“I would think that’s obvious,” he said flatly, a tick appearing in his jaw. His gaze was focused somewhere over her head.

“Your leaving will ruin everyone’s holiday. Every year, all they ever talk about is you coming home.” His gaze zeroed in on hers with deadly accuracy. He looked so angry, as if he was about to explode. Shannon felt the urge to reach up and kiss away the firmness of his mouth until it was soft and friendly. “Are you leaving because of, ah,what happened?” She didn’t have to spell it out; they both knew what she was referring to.

“I think it’s better this way.”

“I’m not blaming you,” she began. “It’s something that just happened, a moment that got away from us.” Trying to sound as if it was insignificant didn’t come off as convincing as Shannon wanted it to. She could barely look Ryan in the eye because of the heat filling her cheeks.

“What makes you think it won’t happen again?”

Shannon’s eyes rounded in surprise. The little thrill his words caused evaporated quickly when she realized he wasn’t happy about his earlier loss of control.

Would it happen again?

She didn’t have the nerve to ask. Deep down part of her wanted it to. She could tell he wanted to leave, but she was in his way. “Ryan please, if you can’t stand being under the same roof with me then I’ll leave. Just, please, don’t hurt your family this way.” It surprised Shannon that his leaving would hurt her, too.

A little about Tory Richards…

Tory is a multi-published, best-selling author who was born in Maine but lives in Florida with three crazy cats. She likes to travel, preferably by cruise ship, and doesn’t like to fly but she will if she has to. She collects antiques and art, loves chocolate (who doesn’t?) and good coffee.

Tory has wanted to be a writer since she was a kid, but life got in the way of her dreams. A few years ago, with the support and encouragement of her family, she decided to get serious. Her romances are laced with humor and filled with suspense and sizzling sex.

Any links you want to include (website, blog, Twitter, Facebook, etc) –

WEBSITE:  www.toryrichards.com,

BLOG:  http://www.debbiewallace.blogspot.com/ ,

FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/profile.php?id=100000953754308,

BUY LINK:  http://www.king-cart.com/cgi-bin/cart.cgi?store=linda018&product_name=The+Promise&return_page=&user-id=&password=&exchange=&exact_match=exact

9 thoughts on “Goddess Fish Promotions VBT — Tory Richards

  1. JeanP says:

    Enjoyed the blurb for your new story and for The Promise, wishing you much success with both of them!

  2. wyndwhisper says:

    Hi Tory,
    i am having alot of fun following the tour. i haven’t been able to leave alot of comment yet because of problems with blogger but i wanted to let you know how much i am looking forward to reading this book. it sounds wonderful.
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  3. tory richards says:

    Thank you Jean.

    Hi wyndwhisper, glad you finally got to leave a comment. I’ve seen a few of the same names, like Jean and Chelsea, who have also been following the tour. I appreciate the support!

  4. tory richards says:

    I don’t know what it is about a man in uniform…okay, I can’t even compete the sentence without smiling. YES I do know! They’re sexy, make us feel protected and safe and they’re sexy. Did I say that already?

    Thanks for coming by Elle!

  5. Nancy Bristow says:

    I’m sort of bouncing around on the tour because I’ve followed Tory for a number of years now and have everything she’s written. The Promise fills in the “short, sensual read” slot very nicely. Loved reading the blurb on her WIP:)

  6. June M. says:

    This book sounds great and I have added it to my TBR list…way too many great books and not enough time!
    Thanks for sharing!
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

