Desert Breeze Publishing Birthday Bash

Welcome to day four of the Desert Breeze Publishing Birthday Bash Tour.  Every day until the big birthday ‘extravagnaza’ ends on the DB blog April 30th, you’ll be able to read why DBP author’s love it so much. On May 1st, Stephanie Burkhart will pick the lucky winner of a GC from Amazon.

And you’ll also get  a chance to win with every post.

My giveaway for the tour is a copy of my first release with DBP, Saving Pale Moon. All you need to do to win is to make a comment on the blog today. I’ll pick a winner tomorrow.

The next stop on the DPB Birthday Bash Tour is with Toni Noel. Go to her blog by clicking here.

WHY I LOVE DESERT BREEZE PUBLISHING

From the first moment I checked out Desert Breeze Publishing, I knew I’d like to be a part of it. I liked the covers and blurbs of the releases, and I loved the fact that it was a non-erotic publishers. Not many publishers focus on the sweeter types of romances. I like the fact that I can pick any book out of the catalog and not feel uncomfortable reading it. (There’s absolutely nothing wrong with erotica and erotic romance, but it’s just not for me.)  I decided I’d like to submit something to them, but at the time I didn’t have anything ready for submission. When I finished revising Saving Pale  Moon, I thought it would be perfect for them. But when I checked out the submission page for the proper way to submit your manuscript, I was disappointed to see they were closed for new submission.

Bad timing.

I submitted Saving Pale Moon to a few different publishers, with the same result. All of them rejected it. I was about to give up on it when I found out that DBP was accepting submission again. I was overjoyed. I reread and revise my manuscript one more time and submitted it. I was at the library when I received the email from Gail Delaney, the wonderful owner and editor-in-chief. I was afraid to open it because I just knew it was going to be another rejection. It wasn’t.  When I found out she was closing to new submission again, I decided to take the chance and send in a series proposal. The heroine of this story had a bunch of sisters, with stories of their own screaming to be told. A little bit later, she said ‘yes’ to the series.  That’s how The Sisters Callaway happened.

What I especially love about DBP, however,  is the care they take to produce the best book they can.  I’d never gone through such a grueling edit as the one I did on Saving Pale Moon. I didn’t think I could do it, but I did. The story is so much better because of it.

I’m blessed and honored to be a part of this wonderful company.

Here’s the blurb for Saving Pale Moon

Jessica Callaway isn’t happy. Maybe meeting her birth mother now would be a good thing.

And it would be if only for her brother.

Blake Hunter doesn’t trust her. Why is she here now, after finding out about Abby twenty years ago? She does look like his adopted mother, but he plans on keeping a cool head until the verifying blood tests are done.

Jessie senses his distrust, but she is still way too aware of him. The mere sound of his voice sets her on edge. When her birth mother tells her Blake is adopted, she relaxes her guard and decides to enjoy her time in Texas. With all the horses surrounding her, especially Pale Moon, she’s in heaven.

Unfortunately Blake isn’t as accepting as the other Hunters.

Has she done the right thing coming to Texas? Or has Jessie made the biggest mistake of her life?

And an excerpt

The man stared as she tore the scarf from her face, a stunned look shining clear in his widened eyes. “Oh, sweet Jesus, you look just like my Abby.”

“Abby?”

He shook his head, pulling his Stetson from it as if only now realizing his bad manners. “Oh, name’s Frank Hunter. Abby’s husband.”

“I’m Jessica Callaway,” she said softly. “Jessie.”

“Jessica?” He shook his head again, studying her features. “Jessie. That was one of the names she’d picked for you. Unbelievable.”

She should feel uncomfortable by his statement, but she didn’t. His open attitude, filled with total astonishment, touched a deep part of her heart. She sensed his unasked questions, yet she didn’t feel threatened by them. Maybe she’d made the right choice.

“I guess I should go get Abby.”

Jessie slipped off her gloves and hat before unzipping and removing her heavy coat. She shoved the accessories into its deep pockets and turned toward the man.

“I still can’t believe how much you look like her.”

“I’m glad.”

“Abby’s going to be happy,” he whispered. “I can’t wait to see her expression when she gets a gander at you.”

A tear drifted from the far corner of her eye. She wiped it away. “So I did make the right choice coming here?”

“Girl,” he said, a cornucopia of wrinkles scarring his face with his smile. “My Abby has been waiting thirty years to meet you. We both have. She’d almost given up hope until you called last year.”

“I hope I’ve done the right thing.”

His lopsided grin warmed her. Any anger, any pain or resentment because of the past seemed to flee from the man. “Are you ready to meet her, Jessie?”

“Yes.” She swallowed another dried breath deep into her unyielding lungs and hugged her wet coat close. “Yes, I’m ready.”

Oh, sweet Jesus, don’t let me regret this.

9 thoughts on “Desert Breeze Publishing Birthday Bash

  1. Stephanie Burkhart says:

    Theresa, thanks for sharing your story. Desert Breeze has some great titles. I agree – it’s a fantastic catalog. It’s great to have you on board as a fellow author!

    Smiles
    Steph

  2. Diane Craver says:

    I’m thrilled you became a part of the wonderful DBP family! Congrats on your success in landing your contracts! I love your excerpt – thanks for sharing it.

  3. JeanP says:

    Congratulations on finding your place with Desert Breeze Publishing. Enjoyed the excerpt, it sounds like it is a wonderful story.

  4. Gail Delaney says:

    It amazes me how often I hear my authors say “I’d been rejected so many times before.” I have to wonder what these other publishers are thinking!

    Thank you for the story, Theresa.

    Gail R. Delaney
    Editor-In-Chief
    Desert Breeze Publishing, Inc

  5. theselfrescueprincess says:

    I loved reading about how you kept trying and didn’t give up home, even taking another look to see if the submissions had opened up for Desert Breeze. The excerpt sounds wonderful.

    Christina

  6. JoAnn says:

    Theresa,

    Sorry I’m a little late. It was fun hearing about how the door opened for you at DBP– especially since it was your first choice of where you envisioned your book being published.

    Best wishes!

    BTW- This DBP Birthday bash is fun. I’m learning so much about the authors. 🙂

  7. Danielle Thorne says:

    Enjoyed your post, Theresa. I agree, Desert Breeze has a certain class that I feel makes it stand out over other publishing companies. The covers are excellent and the quality of fiction and taste, exceptional.

    Good luck with you release!

Leave a Reply

