Guest Blogger — Stephanie Burkhart

Just a little about me:  I was born in Manchester, New Hampshire. After graduating from Central High, I joined the US Army. I spent 11 years in the military, 7 in Germany. While in the military, I earned a BS in Political Science from California Baptist University in Riverside, CA in 1995. I left the Army in 1997 and settled in California, but my favorite football team is still the New England Patriots.  I work for LAPD as a 911 dispatcher. I’ve been married for 19 years. I have two boys, Andrew, 8, and Joseph, 4.

I’d like to thank Theresa for having me here today on her blog. My latest release is “The Count’s Lair” a paranormal romance that is set in Budapest, Hungary during Christmas 1901. My heroine, Lady Amelia Andrássy is a talented pianist who has agreed to join us for an interview today.

 Welcome, Amelia!

AMELIA: Thank you for having me today.

THERESA: I understand you grew up in England. How is living in Hungary different?

AMELIA: It’s very different – there are different foods, customs, and traditions. I like Hungarian pogácsas and Tokaji. Bryant, my butler, has been a great help teaching me about my new home.

THERESA: Tell us about Anton Varga. I hear he’s a tall, dark, handsome Hungarian.

AMELIA: (covers her cheeks with her hands) Am I blushing? Um, yes, Anton is very handsome. He has the most incredible eyes – sapphire with a gold ring around the irises. I can easily get lost in his eyes. He’s had a tough life growing up through, and he’s rather guarded on occasion, but the man has the most amazing lips.

THERESA: So, he’s a good kisser?

AMELIA: Remarkable. Can we ah, change the subject?

THERESA: How did you meet Anton?

AMELIA: I believe our first meeting was hardly memorable. I think it was in a bookstore and he paid my friend, Katherine Duma, more attention than me.

THERESA: So he hardly noticed you?

AMELIA: Hardly! Several weeks later I went to visit Kate at the bookstore she owned and Anton was there. I was very upset that day. I had just discovered my husband, Mikel, had a mistress. Bryant found me at the bookstore with a lawyer who told me Mikel had passed away in a train accident. I fainted into Anton’s arms. He was very attentive after that. We became friends.

THERESA: Isn’t Anton a moody sort? No one can find him when the moon is full.

AMELIA: He’s very intense. He had a rough time growing up. His father and brother didn’t think much of him. He wants to court me, but has a secret.

THERESA: A secret?

AMELIA: He’s going to give me 3 clues. It’s a bit mysterious, don’t you think?

THERESA: What’s your first clue?

AMELIA: The moon.

THERESA: What did you make of it?

AMELIA: It’s kind of spooky.

THERESA: What’s the best quality about Anton?

AMELIA: He’s very loyal. He’s steadfast. He embodies a silent strength that often brings me up when I’m feeling a little down.

THERESA: What piece of music reminds you of Anton?

AMELIA: Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven.

THERESA: Thanks for being here, Amelia.

AMELIA: You’re welcome. Do you mind if I ask your reader what composer they prefer?  Beethoven, Mozart or Liszt?

BLURB:

Count Anton Varga is haunted by the curse of the moon. It tugs on his emotions, ravishing his soul. Anton abhors the beast he must learn to tame if he is to find peace. 
Lady Amelia Andrássy is an accomplished pianist, but her life in Budapest had been filled with heartache. When Amelia faints in the Duma’s bookstore, it’s Anton’s strong arms that cradle her fall. His unusual indigo eyes spark with hers, replacing their individual loneliness with the promise of feral passion. 
After a two month separation, Anton is ready to walk into Amelia’s life again, but is Amelia ready to fan the spark they shared into a flame? 


YOU TUBE BOOK TRAILER:

The Count’s Lair is available as ebook for Kindle, B&N Nook, Sony Ereader, and Kobo. You can also download a copy from the Publisher’s Website at:

http://stores.desertbreezepublishing.com/-strse-142/Stephanie-Burkhart-Budapest-Moon/Detail.bok

You can find me on the web at:

BLOG:

http://sgcardin.blogspot.com

WEBSITE:

http://sgcardin.tripod.com

FACEBOOK:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1357922219

5 thoughts on “Guest Blogger — Stephanie Burkhart

  1. I don’t know enough about the different composers, other than what I’ve head in 8 years of piano recitals and tried to forget.

    The piece you mentioned, “Moonlight Sonata,” is a favorite of mine. My youngest played it during a recital and we were very excited that she was playing such an “advanced” piece at such an early age. However, right in the middle of her piece, a huge thunderstorm struck the area and the power went off. Michelle never noticed because she was so deep in the music. She got the largest round of applause for the entire recital, even more than the girl who played “The Flight of the Bumblebee.”

    It’s a memory I treasure.

    Best of luck with this release, Steph!

    Maggie

  2. Maggie,
    Thank you for telling me that beautiful story of your daughter. That’s how I feel when I play. The world can be falling down around me but nothing matters except the music.

    Sincerely,
    Lady Amelia.

Leave a Reply

