Guest Blogger — Cindy K. Green

Listen to Your Heart-A History and a Cure

At the end of 2008, I wrote my first historical western. That story, The Heart Never Lies, released with Champagne Books on New Years Day 2009. Within a year, it became a best seller and I became one burnt out author. Between the writing, marketing, promoting, and the mom and wife thing, I was unable to write a word for four months. I had developed horrible writer’s block.

That’s when my publisher informed me how well the western was selling on Amazon. I thought to myself, ‘Maybe I should write a sequel.’ Readers were already asking what happened next to these characters. That’s when this whole other secret side to my hero came to me. The plot thickens. I started researching Wyoming and the 1870’s again. That research more than anything broke me out of my writer’s block. I had a story and plot coming together and more than that I had the words to go along with it. The result is the sequel, Listen to Your Heart. It’s a special story for me. A cure for the writer’s block. I hope you will enjoy it.

Blurb:

Kit McCauley can hardly believe her eyes. Of all men, she believed Beau to be true blue and not one to step out with another woman behind her back. Sparks fly and secrets are revealed which just might be the undoing of her upcoming wedded happiness.

Beau Tucker thought he’d left his past East of the Mississippi . When a stranger from Chicago comes looking for him, his world spins out of control. He has to listen to his heart and decide where he belongs.

Excerpt:

With eyes blurring with tears, Kit felt like her brain was in a fog. How could this be happening? How could she have misjudged him? Of all the men she’d ever met, she never imagined Beau could be so inconstant—so shifty. She heard murmurings from inside the house and seconds later the door opened and there was that woman followed by Beau.

The lady didn’t say a word. She just smiled in that same arrogant way and gave Kit a nod before entering her buggy and driving away. The heat of jealousy flashed through Kit so that when Beau touched her shoulder she swiveled around and slapped him right across the jaw. “You mealy-mouthed liar.” She wiped the wetness from around her eyes. “I never want to see you again.”

Recovering from the smack, he pinned her hands to her sides. “Now listen here, Kit. I’m sorry. I should have told you the truth, but I just didn’t know how.”

“Why should I believe anything you have to say?”

“You shouldn’t.” His voice rumbled low with passion. He released her and rustled a hand through his already disheveled hair. “You should just drive away and pretend you never knew me.”

Available Now at

CHAMPAGNE BOOKS or Amazon

Email me today for a free read historical western, Second Chances.

Bio:

Cindy K. Green is a multi-published author with degrees in History and Education. Previously a middle school English & History teacher, she now homeschools her own children and writes in several genres: Inspirational, Contemporary, Suspense, Fantasy and Historical romance. No matter what she writes, she always throws in a bit of humor and fun. Find out more about Cindy and her books at www.cindykgreen.com and http://cindykgreen.blogspot.com/. To join her newsletter email her at newsletters@cindykgreen.com.

3 thoughts on “Guest Blogger — Cindy K. Green

  1. Cindy,
    I read Listen to Your Heart and I loved. Good to hear you had great sales on Amazon. I’m reading the sequel right now and I love the mystery behind Beau and the lady from Chicago! Well done.

    Smiles
    Steph

  2. Cindy,

    I love the way research fills a person with ideas. Oftentimes when I get stuck its because I don’t have enough information.

    Wishing you all the best with this release!

    Maggie Toussaint
    romance and mystery author
    maggietoussaint.com

Leave a Reply

