Guest Blogger — Stephanie Burkhart

I’d love to thank Theresa for having me here today to talk a little about the Borealis II Anthology and my story, “Shadows and Light.”

Just a little about me: After being raised in New Hampshire and growing a wicked New England accent, this Patriot fan joined the US Army. I spent 7 years stationed in Germany and will never find a real gyros here like I did at the Greek restaurants in Germany. In 1991, I married a fair haired California boy and we settled in Castaic, just north of LA in 2000. My wicked New England accent is but a whisper now.

The Borealis Anthologies

Borealis I was released in October 2010 and this month, Borealis II came out. The anthologies contain short science fiction romantic stories which are centered around a futuristic space station. It was born out of a conversation author J. Morgan had with Editor-in-chief Gail Delaney at Desert Breeze. Each anthology contains 3 shorts stories. Each story has the Borealis space station as a backdrop for the setting.

 The challenge then is to coordinate with other authors so you mention their characters, they mention yours, and you stay consistent.

I sat down, looked at my story, the story outlines of the other stories and looked at my options. That said, I want to give a big shout out and thank you to fellow Borealis II Authors, Esther Mitchell who worked with me to coordinate our stories and characters. I also worked with fellow author Shae McMaster on character crossovers as well. Gail Delaney helped me immensely with character background between Persephone/Sarina and Theron/Elijah. While it takes a lot of work, the coordination pays off when you see a character you’ve grown to love pop up in another story.

Shadows and Light

Persephone and Elijah have each been tasked to investigate the Uudon Trace on the Borealis. Will their attraction help or hinder their missions?

Here’s a link to the Shadows & Light Story Teaser on You Tube: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YV2moYlgwCA

Excerpt:

This excerpt contains a scene with Elijah and Libby, Esther Mitchell’s character from her story, “Liberty’s Flight.”

The bar was filled with nameless faces. He glanced at his chronometer. Ten minutes into the night shift rotation. Where was she?

“What would you like?”

Elijah turned in the direction of the voice. The bartender flashed him a casual, practiced smile. He recognized her as the woman Persephone had gone to Garrity’s Hideaway for. “You’re new to Korn?”

“Libby.”

 “Elijah. I’ll have something tame.”

 She raised an eyebrow. “Tame?”

 He rubbed his chin, trying to remember the drink Persephone gave him in the booth the other night.

“Beer? Ale?” Libby asked.

“Brandy.”

“Don’t drink much, do you?” she asked.

“It’s obvious, huh?”

She flashed him a small smile. “It’s admirable.”

Elijah kept his expression even as she poured the drink. So this was Libby. The best.

“How do you like it here?” he asked.

“No complaints,” she replied.

Elijah sipped his drink. She opened her mouth to say something, then quickly closed it.

 “What were you going to say?” he asked.

 “Nothing.”

 “Tell me. I don’t bite.”

“You wear a TPP uniform. I don’t like them.”

“Yeah, I do. Don’t judge me by the uniform. Judge me by my deeds.”

 “Or your eyes, perhaps?” she offered.

“My eyes?”

“I’ve seen eyes like yours before. Determined, yet compassionate.” She paused, a puzzled look on her face. “Eyes you can trust, even if you don’t want to.”

He raised a curious eyebrow. Another customer called to her and Libby went to serve him.

Goodie Time: Leave a response and I’ll be back tomorrow, 8 NOV to pick two people to receive an autographed postcard of the Borealis II cover. 

Answer this question:  How has Star Wars resonated with you? I’ll pick a winner to receive a $6.00 GC to Amazon.

The Borealis II Anthology is available for Kindle, Nook, Sony Ebook Reader, All Romance Books and at Desert Breeze Publishing. 

Here’s a link to the Borealis II Anthology on the Desert Breeze Site:  http://stores.desertbreezepublishing.com/-strse-121/Borealis-Space-Anthology-Stephanie/Detail.bok

You can find me on the web at:

Website:

http://sgcardin.tripod.com

Blog:

http://sgcardin.blogspot.com

Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stephanie-Burkhart-Author/149938795021166?ref=ts

9 thoughts on “Guest Blogger — Stephanie Burkhart

  1. Maggie Toussaint says:

    I got a great vibe from your excerpt, Steph. I like the way Libby noticed Elijah because of his eyes. I’m an eye person myself.

    Star Wars was the first sci-fi movie I remember seeing, but I always enjoyed The Jetsons TV cartoon show and of course, Star Trek. Since I can first remember, I’ve been drawn to the stars.

    Everything about Star Wars seemed larger than life for me. I loved the menace of Darth Vader, the inhuman battle machines, the story of Luke and Leia being siblings and that’s when I fell in love with Harrison Ford as an actor. I loved how he could bang and clang on a rust bucket and make it go – he seemed like a character from my life and was accessible to me.

    I still think one of the catch-lines from the movie: “May the Force be with you.”

    Star Wars had a big impact on me, and it was the first date I ever went on with a guy I was interested in. He enjoyed the movie as much as I did, and things kept clicking for us. You might say the force was with us, because we’ve now been married for 33 years.

    Great blog!

    Maggie

  2. Stephanie Burkhart says:

    Maggie,
    I just watched Stars War I and IV with Andrew yesterday and interestingly, he really liked I better than IV. He loved the pod races and Annikan was his age so he really connected with it. I think he’ll really embrace the series as he gets older.

    LOL – there may not be much romance in the movies, but it’s a great date night. Congrats on 33 years. Smiles
    Steph

  3. sfcatty says:

    Sounds like a grand story, Steph.

    One of the things I love about Star Wars is the line “I’ve got a bad feeling about this” Han Solo said it first but it has been said by some character in every one of the movies since then. I love that. Jillian

  4. JOYE says:

    Enjoyed reading the coments.
    I loved Star Wars when I first saw it opening night in Los Angeles. It was something totally unique that we had never seen. I liked the characters, the music, and the special effects. Then I watched all of the sequels and enjoyed them as much.
    Is there really life out there?

  5. Stephanie Burkhart says:

    Hi, I’m back to announce my winners!

    Congrats to sfcatty and Liana – you ladies are my autographed postcard winners. Ladies if you could send me an email with your snail mail I’ll get those postcards right out to you.

    And Congrats to JoyE – you are my Amazon $6.00 GC winner. Please email me with your contact info so I can get that out to you!

    Thanks so much for popping in
    Smiles
    Steph

  6. LK Hunsaker says:

    Oh, those gyros in Germany were amazing, weren’t they? We haven’t found any as good here, either.

    I’m late, just running through to say hello and good luck with the anthology!

  7. Nancy Lee Badger says:

    Former New Hampshire lady, here, and my son was stationed in Darmstadt, Germany. Hubby attended American high school in Wiesbaden. I have always been stuck in this, the greatest country on earth! Happy Veteran’s day to you and good luck on the book!

Leave a Reply

