Have some wonderful news!

I sold another book.

Yes!

I sold my short sexy romance tentatively called The Gift to my second publisher, Whispers Publishing. It was a complete surprise because I just sent my editor, Jesse, the synopsis and first three chapters of it a few days before I received the contract offer. She didn’t even need to read the entire manuscript.

I’m in heaven.

2009 ended in a bad way, and 2010 started in the same way. Finding this email with an offer of a contract for this book has just made this new year a bit brighter for me.

As for A Betrayal of Friendship, I’m still waiting for my cover for it. I did do the final read through of it about a week ago, so I should be getting my copy of the book soon. I can’t wait to see it. It’s due out the 22 of this  month. I’ll need a few weeks to promote it.

Here’s a short blurb about the book:

      Mace left her two years ago.

      Now he’s back.

      Charlie’s gotten her life back together. The last thing she needs right now is this hard-headed man.

      But wanting?

      That’s an entirely different story.

And a longer excerpt:

      “You never wanted to touch me before.”

      “You’re wrong.” Before Mace could silence the words, he added, “I’ve always wanted you.”

      “But you hate me.”

       He needed to stop this now.  He needed to force the conversation to different ground, safer ground.  If she ever found out the true reason he’d left her two years ago, only weeks after his brother’s funeral, she’d never be able to forgive him.

      “Tell me the truth,” a tentative hand landed on his arm.  “I need to know that truth.”

      No, the truth is the last thing you need. 

     “Mace?”

      He needed to change the subject—and quickly.  The plane!  “Pam was right.”

      Charlene’s back went rigid at the female name. 

      “She told me and Billy you crashed the plane.”  He ignored her astonished look and bent down to stare at the dented wing tip.  “Looks like I’ve a mess to fix up here.”

      Her temper flared.  “No, Hamilton, I have a mess to fix not you.”

      “You?”  He was being unfair, and he knew it, but he needed to stop her tears.  If she cried, he’d be lost.  He hadn’t return to Kodiak after all this time just to get her to cry.  He wanted her smile.  Anger would do. “Yeah, right, like a woman can fix this,” placing his hand on the damaged wing, “good enough to fly it back to Kodiak.”

      “Why you—” She smothered her harsh words.  “I can’t talk to you now.”  She glared at him before she turned and raced toward the safety of the clinic.

      At least the hint of tears had left her eyes, replaced by more violent emotions.

      Unfortunately, even filled with that McIntire exasperation, the woman affected him way too much.

If you’d like to hear the blurb of A Betrayal of Friendship read outloud, check out Blog Talk Radio this Friday, Jan. 8th, starting at 11PM Eastern. Our love promotion person, Pat, will be reading excerpts from different Whispers releases in for 11-11:30.

I plan on listening to the program.

Leave a Reply

