Just a little update

I’m still waiting on first edits for my newly contracted book with Whispers Publishing. I just found out a few days ago I was assigned a different editor. I sent her out an unedited copy of A Betrayal of Friendship and I’m hoping to get it back soon so I can start doing the edits. My release date isn’t until  January of 2010, so I have plenty of time to get it finished. My first editor, Cyndy, said it didn’t seem to have any major problems. I’m hoping my new one. Jessica, will think the same thing.

As far as my other writing is going–I haven’t been able to write much in the last few weeks. My husband and I were traveling back to Georgia from PA in our RV, and near Richmond, Virginia our transmission gave out in it. What a mess that was! We had to stay at a Super8 for almost two weeks. The first couple of days at the hotel were nice, but after a while I just wanted out of Virginia. We drove all the way through North Carolina the day we finally got our RV back–over 200 miles. We left Richmond around 6:30 pm and got into South Carolina around 11:00. Normally we don’t like to drive at night but both of us wanted to get to South Carolina so we just kept driving. My IRA account is seriously depleted but we are safely park in my brother-in-law’s backyard. Thank God he and his wife offered to let us stay here. If we had to pay a monthly site fee, I don’t think we’ll make it.

One nice thing happen on that dark, rainy drive–my husband and I had a wonderful conversation about one of my finished romances.  He read the first draft and had some nice comments about it. Some of his comments actually will make the book a better one. Even though they mostly enhanced the physical side of the couples relationship, his comments did make sense. He also caught a lot of things that will need to be fixed, deleted out or changed. I’ve been thinking of doing the things he spoke about anyway, but it was nice to be on the same page for once. I’m thinking of sending this particular manuscript to Harlequin Spice ebook, so I’m glad he mentioned some ways to trim it. The word count for that line is 5,000 to 15,000 words and The Gift is a little over 17,000.  I’ve all ready cut a good thousand words or so.

Oh, and some other good news. Mike is starting work tonight. He works for a security company during the winter months and they all ready have a job lined up for him. It’s only a temporary one but it pays $10.00 an hour. Hopefully he’ll be working full-time until May. We have a job lined up back in PA for the summer.

Seeing as this is such a rambling blog entry, I’ve decided to download page two of the romance I’m writing now.  (The first page is in the post above.)  The first page ended in the middle of a sentence that’s why this one started so funny. If you’d like to read the first page, click here. Here you go–

 

her? Why am I so weak? Why can’t I be more like my room mates and tell her to go to hell?

     “Hey, Angie.”

     A familiar male voice broke through her questions and set her heart on edge. She didn’t need to see this man now. She didn’t want Hunter Cartwright sweeping in here like a knight and saving her from another mythical dragon. This man always showed up at the wrong time

     But why should that bother her?

     Angie had inherited his attention when she’d moved in with Fallon and Emmie last year. Hunter had been looking out for his best friend’s two younger sisters for ages, and he’d extended that protection to her when she’d moved in with them. At first she’d enjoyed it but now…. She just wanted him to leave her be.

     “What are you doing standing there holding those wet clothes?” He glared at the older woman before reaching over and throwing open the door of the dryer. The woman frowned and looked away. “One of these days you’re going to have to stick up for yourself.”

     “I do, when it’s important to me.” Angie had no trouble getting past her need to keep everything peaceful at work or with her friends. But her family and strangers—that’s another story completely. Picking and choosing your 

Tomorrow I might put the third page on here for you. 

 

Leave a Reply

