One Woman’s Progress–Part 1

So how do I do it?  Write, I mean?

I’m not really sure, so I decided to follow my own progress on my newest WIP.  (That’s work in progress, for the non-writers out there.) 

So what do I do?

I think every project starts in a different way.  For the one I’m working on now, two things put the story together.  The first is a short, sexy story with a Deputy Sheriff and an older woman just sitting finished in my hard drive.  (Well, the first draft is sitting there.)  And a new series called Men in Uniform just introduced for the Crimson Rose line of The Wild Rose Press.  This line is for romantic suspense books.  I like reading them, so I decided to try my hand at writing one of them.  Actually the very first book I’d ever finished writing, back in  the dark ages of the ’80s, was a romantic suspense targeted to Harlequin Intrigue.  I enjoyed writing that.

Enough of that.  More on my progress–Like I said I already had a completed romance, but I needed to find a crime for the suspense part.  I plotted out a possible one the past week or so–art forgery–and a possible reason for the heroine, Dana, to be in danger.  Her deceased husband is the forger. and he sold the fake picture as the original.  The guy who brought it finds out and is after Dana, thinking she knows where the real one is hidden.  I’m still working out the details.  Right now Ben (the hero) is helping out the cop in charge of the investigation by promising to keep an eye on her while she’s in Savannah.  He really doesn’t think she’s in any danger, though.  Dana doesn’t like the man because he’s a cop.  (Bad experience with the Altanta police here.)  And because he’s only 28.  (She’s 40.)  And because he’s obviously more than willing to show her how mature he is. 

The romance stuff is already written, hopefully I won’t need to change it.  I like the way Dana and Ben’s relationship is expressed in the older stuff.  I may have to change some of it,  but I like writing that kind of stuff.

So how do you write?  Would love to hear how other writers go about starting and finishing their great novels?

One thought on “One Woman’s Progress–Part 1

Leave a Reply

