A Bit of Good News!

If you’ve been reading my post here, you’ll know that I’ve been waiting for a email from The Wild Rose Press about my contemporary romance, One and the Same. 

Well, as of last week or so I still hadn’t heard anything, so I decided to email Rhonda Penders.  She emailed me back and said she’ll look into it. 

She did.

A couple of days ago I got an email from the Champagne Rose line head editor, telling me she’d assigned my manuscript to another editor named Cindy and I should hear from her soon.

I did, and she asked me to send the manuscript and synopsis to her.

I  just finished doing that a few minutes ago.

And now the waiting begins again.

But in the meantime I’ve decided to do a Novella in a Month writing challenge starting May 1 at CataUniversity.  My current cowboy romance is stuck at the bare end of chapter seven and I can’t seem to get going again.

Here’s the last page of my chapter:

“No,” she said, on a breathless whisper.  “That was a mistake.”

“Kissing you wasn’t the mistake,” he said, pulling her away from the heated coffee.  He wrapped his arms around her waist now, tightening her middle against his hard cock.  She tried to pull away, but he held her firm to him.  “The mistake I made was not insisting you let me into your apartment.  The mistake I made was walking away from you.”

“You didn’t want to be with me then.”

Unbelief leaped in his mind.  “You’re kidding, right?”

When she opened her mouth to protest this time, he silenced her dissenting words by traveling his tongue over the length of her bottom lip before she could utter them.  She tasted of cherry.  Gathering her up hard to him, he caressed his hand down her curvy bottom while slanting his mouth over hers.  She murmured soft under his attack, a tentative protest before snaking her long fingers up the length of his arms and settling them lightly on his shoulders.  He clamped his fist into her sweet ass, rubbing his throbbing cock against her. 

“Damn!”

Her fingers brushed over his aching shoulder on the way down to his backside, sending a twinge of healing warmth through him.  Healing warmth and hot, surging desire fought inside him.  His desire won the battle when she snaked her fingers inside the back of his pants and pulled out his flannel shirt.  He groaned out her name and lifted her, carrying her to the opened door.

“Tell me where to go.”

“Oh, Maddie,” a startled voice said.  “I’m sorry.  I didn’t mean to…interrupt you.”

“Ashley?!”

A deep flush spread into the girl’s cheekbones.  “I’m so sorry.”

 

And that’s where I left Ethan and Maddie over a week ago.  Ethan’s a strong guy, but I’m sure even his arms are tired holding her up.

Thankfully these challenges usually get me back on track with my writing.

2 thoughts on “A Bit of Good News!

  1. Pingback: I’m STILL a rose! « Tstillwagon’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

