One Brief Timeline

How long does it take to find out if you’ve sold a romance anyway?

“If Promises were Kept”, a contemporary romance, has been at The Wild Rose Press since September 30, 2007 when I first submitted the query and synposis to the publisher.  On October 1, 2007, I received a response from the Editor-in-Chief, Rhonda Penders, stating she’d forwarded it to the Senior Editor of the Champagne Rose line and to e-mail her back if I didn’t hear anything about it in 30 days.

I didn’t hear back so I sent an e-mail asking if anything as been done with it yet.  The Editor-in-Chief said she’ll check it out for me. On November 16, 2007, I received good news from the Senior Editor of the Champagne Rose line, Roseann Armstrong, asking for the first three chapters.

Yeah, finally.

I reread and sent out the first three chapters on the following day, November 17, 2007.  Roseann sent me back a response, saying she received them on November 20, 2007.  If you don’t hear anything about the submission in 4 to 6 weeks, feel free to e-mail me and I’ll check it for you.

Fine!

I was about ready to send an e-mail to her when I received yet another e-mail, from yet another editor named Kat O’Shea stating Roseann had passed her the partial and she was looking forward to reading it.  The date on this e-mail was January 18, 2008.  Yet, because the senior editor computer was down, I’d need to send the query and synposis to her again.  I sent it out to her on the same day.

Now all I’ll have to do is wait another two months.  I should hear what their decision is on or before March 17,  2008.

Two good omens–I have a good friend named Kat, and I’m partly Irish.

March 17th is St. Patrick’s day!

Now you know why everyone tells writers to start a new project while waiting for word on another.  I’ll probably have two finished by then.

It’ll be worth it! 

One thought on “One Brief Timeline

Leave a Reply

