A Pale Moon–Should I or shouldn’t I?

So how is my current project going?  The only good thing to say about it is it’s almost finished. 

Well, there is one other good thing, I’m actually writing it again.  A page at a time.  I am writing, at least.  But I’m not sure if I want to finish it.  Two other romances are fighting to overwhelm my desire to put the end to A Pale Moon, and it’s getting harder and harder to stop from starting chapter one of one or the other of them.

But I promised myself I wouldn’t try to write two things at once again.

The last two romances were written at the same time, and I need to do a major rewrite on both of them.  I’d rather not add a third to that list.

So, now I’m going to try to figure out what’s wrong with this WIP?  Why am I having such a hard time finishing it?  I’m not really sure I know the answer to that question.  The main thing I’ve been doing in the last week or so is rereading the beginning chapters and placing notes to how I need to change things around.  Everything seems okay with the plot until I get to chapter nine or ten, that’s when I’m finding things all mixed up and out of place.  Because I’ve decided to cut back 15,000 words to the manuscript, the ending had to change and some of the older scenes has to be either deleted or rewritten to reflect my new ending.  It’s a much better book now, though. 

The second major change is I’ve decided to set the story in Texas, near San Antonio.  Originally I had it in Wyoming (which somehow changed without me knowing it to Montana) but I’m living in Texas now so I decided to use what I know. Mike and I only moved to this area a month ago, so everything is still fresh to me.  I’m setting the ranch outside of Boerne because it has a rodeo corral right on the main road into town.  After all how can I set a story in a western state without a rodeo nearby?  I’m not sure how I’m going to incorporate this information into the story, however.  That’s another one of those earlier things that needs to be changed.  I had the heroine being invited to a dance (not by the hero) but I might change it and have the other man invite her to a rodeo.  Or better yet maybe I’ll change all of it completely and have the hero ask her to the rodeo. Unfortunately, the other guy has to ask her out because his father is the heroine birth father.  (The heroine is visiting Texas to met with her birth mother.) The birth mother hasn’t been talking with the heroine for the last few chapters.  Abby (the birth mother) doesn’t think anyone knows who the heroine’s (Jessie’s) birth father is and she doesn’t know how to tell her.  The chapter I’m working on now brings all this into the open. 

If only I wasn’t so cheap, I could print out the entire manuscript.  Seeing it all in black and white would make it so much easier for me to see where I’m having problems with the plot.  But I’ve already written 250 or so pages and I don’t feel like wasting all that ink.  Maybe I could print out the last few chapters. 

Oh, when will this story ever be finished?

Even now my brain is in the middle of plotting out scenes for one of my other romances, also set in Texas with a rodeo, involving a librarian and a rodeo clown.  I want to start writing it soon.

Get out of my head, you evil little librarian.

Okay, here goes nothing–today is January 6.  My goal is to finish the first draft of this romance by January 31.  It’s a doable goal.  I finger I only have two or three new chapters to write and twenty or so things to fix up in the earlier version.  I should be able to do it.

My legs are crossed!

Leave a Reply

