Forward a Bit–A Quick History

For five or so years, I didn’t write a word.

I was in misery.

Until one day I put away my anger and picked up my pen.  I finished my next novel by the year’s end.  But I didn’t sell it.

But I’m still writing.

Learning is a lifetime thing.  One day things just seem to come together.  Times change, things change.  Electronic publisher started getting better and better so I decided to take the plunge and send one of my much-rejected manuscript to them.  The first one said ‘no’.

But I wasn’t going to give up this time.

“If Promises were Kept” was a romance I didn’t think good enough to sell.  When I submitted it to the second electronic publisher I never thought I’d hear anything from them.  I really didn’t expect anything at all.  My husband and I were in the middle of moving from Ohio to Georgia at the time and I didn’t think much about it at all.  I pushed it to the back of my mind.  Why worry over it for a month?

I didn’t have to wait that long.  The day before we left in our RV, I checked my e-mails and read the company wanted me to send them the first three chapters.  I cut and pasted them from the the document, read and changed a few things here and there, then sent it off in an attachment.  Not even a week later, I receive an e-mail asking for my full manuscript.   Without even rereading it this time, I send it out to them the same day.  We were in Georgia when I found out they wanted to buy it.  I e-sign the contract a couple of weeks later.

This was my moment.

Until….

Leave a Reply

